Your trolley is empty :(

Settlers of Catan reviews

By Mayfair Games   Series: Catan
 
Our price: $69.99 $59.99 (save 14%)
In stock at Mighty Ape
Ships Monday!

Back to product overview

Customer reviews

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful:
Review by Zane on 13th January, 2010
 
5 stars "Played it once, now HAVE to buy it!"

This game is one which requires strategic thinking and the ability to change your plans in the roll of a dice. Players compete to build the largest civilization through acquiring and trading resources which can be spent on roads, new settlements and upgrading settlements to cities.

The rules can seem pretty confusing at first, but after a few turns you start to get the hang of just how resources are doled out and how to best spend them.

The special “Development cards” keep things interesting as you trade resources on a random card which could give you an extra “victory point” (first player with ten wins) or a knight to bolster your army, or a monopoly allowing you to have any resource you wish from all of the other players. The twists and turns that unfold as you play keep this game interesting and intense throughout.

Game is best with three or more players, and gameplay for us was about 90 minutes with four players.

This game is so good that we played it once with friends and now want to get our own!

 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful:
Review by Leon on 17th June, 2010
 
5 stars "Great game with friends, or the family"

Fantastic game. Lots to do when it's not your turn. You win by being the fastest builder – you don't have to grind everybody else down, so it's still fun if you lose. Only two main pages of rules, but lots of scope for strategy, if you're that way inclined…

 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful:
Review by david on 24th November, 2010
 
5 stars "The greatest game I have ever played"

This game absolutely revolutionized my evenings, social life and in general my lifestyle. It involves a complex interplay of both strategy as well as pure chance, and no two games are the same. This is the base game and the extensions further enhance this great game, although it in itself is of utmost quality and in recent times has superceded RISK as the most exciting, and strategic oriented board game I have ever played.

 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful:
Review by Michael on 23rd June, 2013
 
5 stars "The board game for our generation"

Looking for a board game as a distraction from the computer, I came upon this game.
After watching a 10 min youtube guide to the game, coupled with the instruction manual the rules were surprisingly easy to pick up.
My friends and I had a great time playing this game (most of us haven't touched a board game in 12+ years). The game has a fair amount of strategic depth and a random factor in setup to ensure no two games are the same.

We can't wait to play again.

 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful:
Review by Jordan on 21st August, 2013
 
"Greatest board game ever made."

I first saw Settlers of Catan in a video on Reddit. I then saw the boys from Big Bang Theory play it in an episode. So I had to try it. NO REGRETS. This game is AMAZING! The level of competitiveness in this game is unique as it doesn't cause major conflict between players the way RISK or Monopoly does. The amount of variations and scenarios that come from the multitude of expansions means every game is different too. A definite MUST HAVE for strategic board gamers. Perfect game for 3–4 people.

 
 
Review by Todd on 5th August, 2014
 
5 stars "Great fun and easy to learn"

One of the most entertaining board games I know. It is highly entertaining and just when you think are you are top, somebody pulls a sneaky move and derails you.

Thoroughly recommend

 
 
Review by Simon on 12th May, 2014
 
5 stars "Makes "Risk" pale by comparison"

Got told about it & it sounded good, played it & it is, bought it & been playing it like crazy since. In my view it really is the best board game -full stop.

 
 
Review by Ana on 25th April, 2014
 
5 stars "Highly Addicitive"

Cant go wrong with this game easy to learn to play even for the little ones.

 
 
Review by Graeme on 13th January, 2014
 
4 stars "Very good game play"

Very neat board game that requires thinking ahead and you need to learn how to trade to your advantage

 
 
Review by Karen on 12th January, 2014
 
5 stars "Great strategy game as advertised"

This game is reasonably complex to learn at the beginning of first game, however on playing becomes clearer. Love that the interior of the island changes layout therefore the game changes each time plus the dice introduces lady Chance.

 
 
Review by Jessica on 28th December, 2013
 
5 stars "This needs to be in your game stack."

Our family are self proclaimed board game nuts. This is the game to rule all games. Quick to learn but complex enough to never get bored of, it is well worth the investment.

 
 
Review by Fiona on 27th December, 2013
 
5 stars "Fantastic Game"

Bought this for my sister for Xmas and now want to get another one for me! The game takes about 5–10 minutes to get into as there is a lot going on, but once you are in, you are hooked. Excellent strategic game.

 
 
Review by Halie on 30th October, 2013
 
5 stars "Awesome fun game"

Was purchased for Fathers Day and has been played multiple times since. Always good fun.

 
 
Review by Pani on 4th September, 2013
 
5 stars "Excellent service, prompt speedy discpatch"

Excellent service, prompt speedy dispatch

 
 
Review by Duncan on 2nd September, 2013
 
5 stars "Will soon buy the seafarers."

Epic game. Wife was sceptical, but now enjoys playing.

 
 
Review by Robert on 28th August, 2013
 
5 stars "An enjoyable game - quick to learn."

A good strategy game. Still quite a bit of luck in it with the dice but it's quick to pick up and very entertaining. There are plenty of expansions to cater to bigger groups and increasing the complexity of the game.

 
 
Review by Justin on 19th May, 2013
 
"First Purchase"

Great game, and Mighty Ape have it at a much cheaper price than the stores…will need to buy the expansion next.

 
 
Review by Kevin on 19th March, 2013
 
5 stars "Great game with family & friends"

My friends introduced me to this game and I'm totally hooked – we try to have a game a week if possible! It's easy to set up and understand the rules. I highly recommend this game.

 
 
Review by Damian on 16th March, 2013
 
5 stars "Easy to learn to play then build complexity later"

It says ages 10 & up on the box, but my 8yr old has no trouble with it. Great game.
Check out the youtube video on playing this game too. (search for Geek & Sundry Tabletop Settlers of catan)

 
 
Review by Brenton on 15th October, 2012
 
5 stars "Faultless! A perfectly designed board game and loads of FUN!"

We recently purchased this board game and it has become an instant hit with everyone, from an 8 year old to a 50 year old!

If you are worried about reading and learning pages of rules, don't! The rules are spread over 4 pages with plenty of colourful diagrams, which makes it clear and easy to understand. I have often put a board game away simply because the rules were poorly written or just far too long and complicated to learn. This is not the case here.

The beauty of this game is that behind the simple rules lies a game of cunning strategy, with a dose of luck. There are multiple ways to win and you need to be wary of what others are trying to do.

One thing that makes this game stand out from most others is ‘player involvement’. Even if it is not your turn, you collect resources based on opponents dice throws and can trade with the player who is throwing the dice. You are constantly involved which is a big plus if, like me, you get bored, waiting for your turn, in most other board games.

Another big point of difference is the often hilarious verbal exchanges on nearly every turn as players try to secure the best trade they can based on their hand of resource cards.

The game lasts around 90 minutes which is perfect as it allows the option to play ‘one more game’.

Also, the hexagonal tile design means that every game will be slightly different as the tiles can be arranged randomly.

At $70+ this game is well worth the money. It will bring friends and family together in a way only board games can. It will cost less than a group outing to the movies and be on your shelf forever, ready to be played again and again.

 
 
Review by Sally on 25th April, 2012
 
5 stars "The best board game"

We quickly learned the rules after one game. It is the only board game enjoyed by the whole family.

 
 
Review by James on 15th March, 2012
 
5 stars "Fun and simple game with surprising depth"

This clever game has depth and replayability. This is due in the main to the random tile layout each game provides. Really fun must have board game for 2 – 4 or up to 6 players with the expansion.

 
 
Review by Karyn on 11th March, 2012
 
5 stars "Good product; arrived fast and safe."

Arrived very quickly; nicely packaged for safe delivery; Brand new product. Good Price. Am a happy customer thanks :)

 
 
Review by Trish on 6th February, 2012
 
5 stars "Great game for four"

Enjoyable game, good to have a game where you're doing something all the time, not just on your turn. Good to try different strategies, really enjoying playing it

 
 
Review by Louise on 1st February, 2012
 
5 stars "Awesome"

Fabulolus game – have been wanting to get it for ages – really pleased with the product and prompt, excellent service. thanks mighty ape

 
 
Review by rachel on 12th November, 2011
 
5 stars "A fun and noisy game for those prepared to learn the rules."

This is a great game for older children – who will find the on line tutorial very useful as it is a bit complex to get started. It is challenging in different ways each time. I like how it takes just the right length of time to finish a game. There seems to be a good mix of skill and luck although as we play it more skill might begin to be more of a factor. There is an interesting selection of well designed playing pieces. There is lots of potential for changing the board once you get the hang of it – and the tactics needed to win will change with the board. We have had problems with fitting the pieces in different configurations but they are still playable with care.

 
 
Review by Hannah on 11th November, 2011
 
5 stars "Awesome!!!!"

My brothers have had this game for ages and I totally love it! So happy to have bought it now!!!

 
 
Review by Michael on 27th June, 2011
 
5 stars "Great Game"

My friends and I thoroughly enjoy the settlers of Catan game. Hours of entertainment for everyone, its a mainstay, and I am constantly asked to bring the game over to get togethers etc…

 
 
Review by James on 19th October, 2010
 
5 stars "An adults board game"

Until I met this game I thought board games were for kids – now it's a great way to follow up a dinner party. Fun for 2 to 4 players (or more with an expansion!)