Metal Albums:

3 [Explicit Lyrics]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

3 [Explicit Lyrics]




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Soulfly includes: Max Cavalera (vocals, guitar, sitar, berimbau); Mikey Doling (guitar, percussion); Marcelo Diaz (bass, percussion, sound effects, background vocals); Roy Mayorga (drums, percussion).

Additional personnel includes: Otto D'Agnolo (keyboards); Greg Hall (drums).

Recorded at Chaton Studios, Phoenix, Arizona.

Sorcerers of speed metal, protectors of the mighty thrash, knights of the double kick drum--Soulfly are out to take no prisoners with their third album--titled, of course, III. Ex-Sepultura mainman Max Cavalera pulls out all the stops with a jawdropping melange of churning, screaming guitars, throaty Cookie Monster vocals, and polyrhythmic percussion that, occasionally combined with sampled effects, is simultaneously hypnotic and overwhelming. "Downstroy" starts as the band means to continue--full-tilt, while the climax of "Enterfaith" incorporates a bowel-loosening kick drum attack that makes one thankful for the comparatively low-key "One" that immediately follows. There's a Portuguese language track ("Brasil"), followed by a charmingly mesmerizing downtempo interlude in the first couple of minutes of the extended "Tree of Pain," which of course soon metamorphoses into a more literal musical representation of agony. With a pedigree like Cavalera's musical satisfaction is practically guaranteed, and the melding of speed, thrash and nu-metal with imaginative sampling and Brazilian rhythms here conveys a musical depth that makes III a consistently absorbing experience.

What the critics say...

Spin (8/02, p.110) - 6 out of 10- "...There's something undeniably thrilling about an Ozzfest demagogue who champions dignity as a human right and makes a maxim like 'Faith is a weapon' his rallying cry...the band remains a hard-charging, tribal-drumming monster fierce enough to kick the bulldozers out of the rainforest....3 could be the charm for Soulfly..."
Alternative Press (8/02, p.67) - 7 out of 10 - "...Streamlined and digestable...A impenitent tone is set from the start...enough to get the troops of doom marching once again..."
CMJ (6/17/02, p.16) - "...This one is a winner; don't miss out..."
NME (Magazine) (6/22/02, p.52) - 6 out of 10 - "...Another clench-jawed grind through seven kinds of hell...Soulfly must be the only band who can make the obligatory minute of Sept. 11th silence seem loud."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Downstroy
  2. Seek 'N' Strike
  3. Enterfaith
  4. One
  5. L.O.T.M.
  6. Brasil
  7. Tree Of Pain
  8. One Nation
  9. 9-11-01
  10. Call To Arms
  11. Four Elements
  12. Soulfly III
  13. Sangue De Barrio
  14. Zumbi
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Roadrunner Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...