Pop Albums:

A Sense Of Wonder [Remaster]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

A Sense Of Wonder [Remaster]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

A Sense Of Wonder [Remaster] by Van Morrison
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel: Van Morrison (vocals, guitar, piano); Chris Michie (guitar); Pee Wee Ellis (tenor saxophone); Bob Doll (trumpet); John Allair (organ); David Hayes (bass); Tom Donlinger (drums); Bianca Thornton, Pauline Lazano (background vocals).

All tracks have been digitally remastered from the original master tapes.

On A SENSE OF WONDER, Van Morrison reflects on many of the most vital, persistent themes in his music. There's his deep sense of spirituality and mysticism; a fierce pride in his Celtic heritage ("Boffyflow and Spike"); ambiguity about the steep price he's had to pay for fame and talent ("If You Only Knew")--one of the dominant characteristics of his later work.

Utilizing the warm sound of a gospel-tinged female chorus to provide a soulful harmonic lift to his work, Van Morrison mines many of the most familiar and endearing veins of his rich, personal style. But as always, there's a feeling of discovery--A SENSE OF WONDER, as it were--to the singer's work, as Van Morrison stretches himself in new directions, taking the listener along for the ride. Most notably on "Let The Slave," where mystic poet William Blake's "The Price of Experience" is incorporated into a reflection on the struggles of the common man.

What the critics say...

Q (5/95, p.125) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...A SENSE OF WONDER presents one of his most consistently excellent sets of songs..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Tore Down A La Rimbaud
  2. Ancient Of Days
  3. Evening Meditation
  4. Master's Eyes, The
  5. What Would I Do Without You
  6. Sense Of Wonder, A
  7. Boffyflow And Spike
  8. If You Only Knew
  9. Let The Slave (Incorporating: The Price Of Experience)
  10. New Kind Of Man, A
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Album Length (Minutes)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...