Rock Albums:

All About Chemistry



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (3.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

All About Chemistry by Semisonic
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Semisonic: Dan Wilson (vocals, guitar); John Munson (trombone, bass); Jacob Slichter (drums).

Additional personnel includes: Carole King (vocals, electric piano): Matt Wilson (vocals, synthesizer); Shane Washington (French horn); Ken Chastain (congas, tabla).

Principally recorded at Seedy Underbelly, Drumhammer, and Subjersey Studios, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

In 1998, Semisonic scored with the hit "Closing Time," a melancholy anthem for anyone who's ever ended up alone with their ego smashed on the rocks at the end of the night after riding a wave of romantic expectations. For 2001's ALL ABOUT CHEMISTRY, this Minneapolis trio emerges from the studio with a recorded dissertation on the complexities of relationships. Loaded with hooks and harmonies, Semisonic wastes no time delving into romance's dark corners, tackling the fears of unrequited love (the yearning "I Wish"), flying solo (the driving "Get a Grip") and the need to pretend all is well (a poignant and delicately wrought "Act Naturally").

Between frontman Dan Wilson's warm delivery and his band's inherent earnestness, the threat of this outing becoming a gloomfest is kept at bay thanks to optimistic numbers like the Crowded House-flavored "Follow" and the Beatles-esque bomp of "Who's Stopping You?" Semisonic's finest moments are with the punning title track, in which love is an experiment conducted in the lab of life, and the pop-perfect "One True Love," a piano-driven duet with legendary singer-songwriter Carole King.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (4/12/01, pp.138,141) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "......"Unabashed pop classicism....bright vignettes full of the walking-on-eggshells tension of modern love, expertly told tales that are equal parts craft and emotion."
Entertainment Weekly (3/16/01, p.69) - "...More catchy hooks than you'll find in a fisherman's tacklebox....What other band can record what sounds like a lost Hall and Oates single, collaborate with Carole King, and invoke classic '60s psychedelia with a minimum of camp?..." - Rating: A-
Q (4/01, p.105) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...They have donned the cloak of surreptitious greatness....over an hour without a dud in sight....Not big, not clever, not hip, not trendy. Just fantastic."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Chemistry
  2. Bed
  3. Act Naturally
  4. She's Got My Number
  5. Follow
  6. Sunshine & Chocolate
  7. Who's Stopping You?
  8. I Wish
  9. One True Love - (featuring Carole King)
  10. Get A Grip
  11. Surprise
  12. El Matador
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
MCA Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...