Pop Albums:

Anthology: Down In Birdland



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Anthology: Down In Birdland by Manhattan Transfer
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


From their origins as a retro-themed vocal-jazz quartet (the cover art features an Art Nouveau caricatured silhouette of the group) to their experiments with vocalese, Latin music, pop, and R&B, the Manhattan Transfer was an adventurous and distinctive outfit. Few groups in the 1970s and '80s kept the tradition of vocal jazz alive with as much talent and vitality as the Transfer, and this two-disc set features an excellent sampling of its work.

Naturally, there is plenty of the group's swing- and be-bop-influenced material (such as their simmering vocal interpretation of the Hendricks/Zawinul classic "Birdland"), so fans of that sound will not be disappointed. Comprehensive and well-compiled, this is a great introduction to the Manhattan Transfer's oeuvre, and is a must-buy for fans of vocal jazz.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Trickle Trickle
  2. Gloria
  3. Operator
  4. Helpless
  5. Ray's Rockhouse
  6. Heart's Desire - (live)
  7. Zindy Lou
  8. Mystery
  9. Baby Come Back To Me (The Morse Code Of Love)
  10. Route 66
  11. Java Jive
  12. Chanson D'Amour
  13. Foreign Affair
  14. Smile Again
  15. Spice Of Life
  16. Speak Up Mambo, The (Cuentame)
  17. Soul Food To Go (Sina)
  18. So You Say (Esquinas)
  19. Boy From New York City
  20. Twilight Zone/Twilight Tone
Disc 2:
  1. Four Brothers
  2. Blee Blop Blues
  3. Candy
  4. Gal In Calico, A
  5. Love For Sale
  6. On A Little Street In Singapore
  7. Tuxedo Junction
  8. That Cat Is High
  9. Body And Soul
  10. Meet Benny Bailey
  11. Sing Joy Spring
  12. To You
  13. Down South Camp Meetin'
  14. Until I Met You (Corner Pocket)
  15. Why Not! (Manhattan Carnival)
  16. Another Night In Tunisia - (with Bobby McFerrin)
  17. Capim
  18. Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square, A
  19. Birdland
Release date Australia
October 27th, 1992
Album Length (Minutes)
Rhino Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...