Rock Albums:

ANThology [Explicit Lyrics]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 8 ratings (4.3/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

ANThology [Explicit Lyrics] by Alien Ant Farm
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars Based on 8 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"An old favorite"
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

This band has been a favorite of mine for a long time now and it makes me feel a little old but I still think Alien Ant Farm rocks. There are some really awesome songs on this album but the one most of you should know is Smooth Criminal. Give it a go I think you will like it.


Alien Ant Farm: Dryden Mitchell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Terence Corso (acoustic & electric guitars); Tye Zamora (guitar, keyboards, bass, bassadilla, background vocals); Mike Cosgrove (drums).

Recorded at NRG Recording Services, North Hollywood, California.

"Smooth Criminal" was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance.

West Coast pop metal outfit Alien Ant Farm's major label debut is actually their sophomore album--their first was voted 1999 independent album of the year at the LA Music awards. ANTHOLOGY is the kind of speed metal that fans of Papa Roach will find familiar (the Ant Farm's label, New Noize, is Papa Roach's imprint), played with just the right combination of pop smarts and populist punk energy.

"Courage" kicks off the album in the way it means to continue, with a barrage of speed drumming, some feisty-sounding riffage, and Dryden Mitchell's angsty vocals, which are an obvious focal point of the band's sound. Alien Ant Farm's first single, "Movies," recalls several styles, tossing some late '80s indie rock and a smattering of Pearl Jam into its potent mix, while the intro to "Flesh and Bone" conjures memories of '80s warhorses the Police before its chorus escalates into full millennial thrash mode.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (5/24/01, p.84) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Showcases the quartet's drum-tight heaviness as it twists in layers of nuance and wit....Finally, a band packs enough balls to put the melody back in metal."
NME (Magazine) (3/31/01, p.31) - 6 out of 10 - "...Tracks shimmer with malevolent guitars and raw-throated hollering....There's more than an echo of the Deftones' dark churn on their more expansive songs....Yet hidden under the pit floor are frankly scarier [their] cover of Michael Jackson's 'Smooth Criminal'..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Courage
  2. Movies
  3. Flesh And Bone
  4. Whisper
  5. Summer
  6. Sticks And Stones
  7. Attitude
  8. Stranded
  9. Wish
  10. Calico
  11. Death Day
  12. Smooth Criminal
  13. Universe
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Dreamworks SKG
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...