Rock Albums:




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (3.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel: Ashlee Simpson (vocals); John Shanks (guitar, keyboards, bass instrument, background vocals); Jamie Muhoberac (piano, organ); Patrick Warren (chamberlin); Abe Laboriel Jr., Kenny Aronoff, Jeff Rothschild (drums); John Feldmann (programming); Kara Dioguardi (background vocals).

Recording information: Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, California.

The younger sister of pop star/reality-TV icon Jessica Simpson, Ashlee Simpson has done nothing to hide her well-documented connection. However, to assume Ashlee is a carbon copy of her superstar sibling or simply trying to ride Jessica's coattails would be plain wrong. While Jessica sings straightforward, gentle pop tunes, Ashlee's music tends towards the angst-ridden and self-analytical, and where Jessica's vocals are light and bouncy, Ashlee explodes with a teen-punk roar.

With her debut record, AUTOBIOGRAPHY, Ashlee unveils a soul-searching sound that lies somewhere between the precocious explorations of Avril Lavigne and the jaded wanderings of Alanis Morissette. The opening single "Pieces of Me" features an ever-changing musical landscape, with Ashlee's powerful voice fading in and out like the love story of the song itself. The title track boasts a sinister guitar opening and a crunching rock riff offset by a huge melodic hook. AUTOBIOGRAPHY may surprise some people, but it's simply a solid pop-rock debut by a talented artist, regardless of famous family ties.

What the critics say...

Entertainment Weekly (p.77) - "Her AUTOBIOGRAPHY is packed with insidiously catchy songs..." - Grade: B-

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Autobiography
  2. Pieces Of Me
  3. Shadow
  4. Lala
  5. Love Makes The World Go Round
  6. Better Off
  7. Love Me For Me
  8. Surrender
  9. Unreachable
  10. Nothing New
  11. Giving It All Away
  12. Undiscovered
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Geffen Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...