Country Albums:

Best Of Bonnie Raitt

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Best Of Bonnie Raitt

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel includes: Bonnie Raitt (vocals, acoustic, electric & slide guitar, piano); Johnny Lee Schell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Arthur Adams, Michael Landau (guitar); Benmont Tench (Hammond C-3 organ); Bruce Hornsby, Scott Thurston (keyboards); James "Hutch" Hutchinson, Roy Rogers (bass); Ricky Fataar, Curt Bisquera (drums); Tony Braunagel (timbales, percussion); Paulinho Da Costa (congas); Debra Dobkin (percussion); Arnold McCuller, Sir Harry Bowens, David Lasley, Sweet Pea Atkinson (background vocals).

The Heart Attack Horns: Bill Bergman (alto saxophone); Marty Grebb (tenor saxophone); Greg Smith (baritone saxophone); John Berry Jr., Dennis Farias (trumpet).

Producers: Bonnie Raitt, Don Was, Mitchell Froom, Tchad Blake.

Includes liner notes by Alan Light.

Personnel include: Bonnie Raitt; Richard Thompson, Ricky Fataar, Stephen Bruton (guitar); Hutch Hutchinson (bass guitar); Debra Dobkin (percussion).

THE BEST OF BONNIE RAITT ON CAPITOL 1989-2003 features Raitt's handpicked selections drawn from the era representing her greatest commercial success, kicking off with the three Grammy-winners from her Capitol debut, NICK OF TIME. Always an astute judge of other songwriters, this crimson-haired chanteuse cast a wide net and found chart success and airplay with covers of John Hiatt (the sassy shuffle "Thing Called Love"), Paul Brady (the Fleetwood Mac-like "Not the Only One"), and the little-known Bonnie Hayes (a simmering "Love Letter" and reggae-soaked "Have a Heart"). Other composers given the Raitt touch include Richard Thompson (a gorgeous "Dimming of the Day"), David Gray (the equally heartfelt "Silver Lining"), and Chris Smither (a live and acoustic "Love Me Like a Man").

Throughout, Raitt's amazing dexterity on electric and slide guitar are inescapable, particularly on the sizzling Roy Rogers duet "Gnawin' on It," which makes it all the more puzzling that Rolling Stone deigned to include Raitt on their list of "100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time." Most impressive is "Hear Me Lord," on which this itinerant blues icon successfully switches gears into Afro-pop mode and delivers a bubbly and bright reading of Zimbabwean legend Oliver Mtukudzi's "Help Me Lord."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Thing Called Love - (with Bruce Hornsby)
  2. Nick Of Time
  3. Nobody's Girl
  4. Something To Talk About
  5. Not The Only One
  6. I Can't Make You Love Me
  7. Love Sneakin Up On You
  8. You
  9. Dimming Of The Day
  10. Love Me Like A Man - (Live)
  11. Rock Steady - (Live, with Bryan Adams)
  12. I Believe I'm In Love With You - (Live, with Kim Wilson)
  13. Lover's Will
  14. Spit Of Love
  15. I Can't Help You Now
  16. Silver Lining
  17. Time Of Our Lives
  18. Hear Me Lord
Release date Australia
May 2nd, 2003
Capitol Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...