Rock Albums:

Blue Boy



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Blue Boy by Ron Sexsmith
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel includes: Ron Sexsmith (vocals, guitar, piano); Steve Earle (guitar, bouzouki); Ray Kennedy (guitar, harmonium, chimes); Don Kerr (cello, drums, percussion, background vocals); Jim Hoke (saxophone); Kami Lyle (trumpet); Brad Jones (organ, bass); Patrick Earle (tambourine, loops) Anna Egge (background vocals).

Recorded at Room And Board Studios, Nashville, Tennessee.

While its an indictment of the shameful state of the music industry that a highly respected songwriter like Ron Sexsmith is unable to maintain a career on a major label, its a testament to Sexsmith's artistic vision that his eventuation into the indie world doesn't alter his creativity a whit. If anything, BLUE BOY is a marked progression for Sexsmith. Though it's produced by Steve Earle and Ray Kennedy, there's no evidence of Sexsmith "going country" here. Earle and Kennedy are perfectly attuned to Sexsmith's post-Beatles pop classicism. They merely highlight in a fresh, interesting way, as on the infectious opener "This Song," where Sexsmith's reedy voice is brilliantly offset by a soul-powered horn section. Or "Not Too Big," which adds a funky touch to the proceedings. Longtime fans needn't fear; their heroes fragile, transcendently melodic gift remains completely intact here, he's just picked up a couple of new steps along his journey.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (7/5/01, pp.140,142) - 3.5 out of 5 stars - "...Offers his widest stylistic assortment yet, from intimate blues to extroverted rock...thanks to producers Steve Earle and Ray Kennedy...there's more bounce in his rhythm section..."
Spin (8/01, p.139) - 8 out of 10 - "...Sexsmith finds relief in classic songcraft, reimagining greats from Johnny Mercer to Freedy Johnson. This is true even when the content is sad indeed..."
Entertainment Weekly (6/8/01, p.76) - "...His 4th gorgeous album...The disc's grittier sound is the perfect complement to [his] 'Waterloo Sunset' croon, and the dangerous dips into loungy jazz and reggae are just lovely..." - Rating: A
Q (7/01, p.116) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Enjoyable..."
CMJ (6/4/01, p.35) - "...His warm, mid-tempo rock has become even more sincere and soulful....little bundles of truth offered so earnestly you'd never think to disagree with them..."
No Depression (7-8/01, p.119) - "...His most accomplished work yet..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. This Song
  2. Cheap Hotel
  3. Don't Ask Why
  4. Foolproof
  5. Tell Me Again
  6. Just My Heart Talkin'
  7. Not Too Big
  8. Miracle In Itself
  9. Thirsty Love
  10. Never Been Done
  11. Thumbelina Farewell
  12. Parable
  13. Keep It In Mind
  14. Fallen
Release date Australia
December 17th, 2003
Cooking Vinyl Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...