Oldies & Nostalgia Albums:

Buddy Holly

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Buddy Holly



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel: Buddy Holly (vocals, guitar); Al Caiola, Donald Arnone, Niki Sullivan, George Barnes, Al Chernet (guitar); Sam Taylor (tenor saxophone); Norman Petty (piano, organ, celeste); Vi Petty, Ernest Hayes, C.W. Kendall, Jr. (piano); Joe B. Mauldin, Sanford Bach (bass); Panama Francis, Phillip Kraus, Jerry Allison (drums); The Helen Way Singers.

Producers: Norman Petty, Dick Jacobs, Bob Thiele.

Recorded at Norman Petty Studios, Clovis, New Mexico and Bell Sound Studios, New York, New York between 1957 & 1958. Originally released as Coral Records (57210). Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.

This is part of "Rock 'N' Roll 50th Anniversary" series.

This 1958 release is one of the first indisputably great rock albums. Holly's range here still impresses; he's equally fluent with rockabilly (or at least, his own highly original take on it, as witness "Rave On" and "I'm Gonna Love You, Too"), R&B (a cover of Little Richard's "Ready Teddy" that has, as they used to say, the real gone spirit), and even a sort of riff-driven folk rock ("Words of Love") that presages power pop. Meanwhile, the instantly recognizable "Peggy Sue" (echo and hiccups) and "Everyday" (wistful melody, haunting celeste accompaniment) remain among the most perfectly crafted singles ever made.

What the critics say...

Q (12/92, p.146) - 5 Stars - Indispensable - "..virtually every track is a classic...if you could have only one pre-'60s album in your collection, then--Elvis notwithstanding--this would have to be it...It's extraordinary that such simple songs can still sound so brilliant 35 years later.."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. I'm Gonna Love You Too
  2. Peggy Sue
  3. Look At Me
  4. Listen To Me
  5. Valley Of Tears
  6. Ready Teddy
  7. Everyday
  8. Mailman, Bring Me No More Blues
  9. Words Of Love
  10. Baby I Don't Care, (You're So Square)
  11. Rave On
  12. Little Baby
  13. Take Your Time - (bonus track)
  14. Now We're One - (bonus track)
  15. Early In The Morning - (bonus track)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
MCA Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...