Techno & Dance Albums:


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...





Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Orb: Nina Walsh (vocals, guitar); Aki Omori (vocals); Bailey Harper (electric guitar); Robert Fripp (guitar); James Clancy (flute); Nick Burton, Simon Phillips (bass); Alex Paterson (programming).

Producers: The Orb, Witchman, Andy Hughes, Guy Pratt.

This 14-track edition contains the bonus cut "E.D.M."

Though Alex Paterson is a pioneer of ambient house music, the former KLF member has ventured down many different electronic-oriented paths through his career. CYDONIA, however, marks his return to a more ambient approach that will bring a nostalgic glow to the hearts of longtime fans.

The album opener "Once More" features the wispy vocals of the album's namesake over the Orb's patented "fluffy clouds" of sound and a gently danceable beat. From there, things get progressively spacier, as psychedelia-laced electronics mingle with Aphex Twin-like breakbeats, languid singing, and odd spoken-word samples. While things do occasionally heat up a bit, as on the thumping, churning electronic beast that is "A Mile Long Lump of Lard," CYDONIA's ultimate destination is the chill-out room, as exemplified by the 11-minute closing cut "Terminus." Here, organic sounds and heavenly electronics criss-cross fluidly in a time-suspended landscape of synthesized bliss.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (5/10/01, p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Offers a beautifully accomplished lesson in classic ambient-house artistry..."
Uncut (2/01, p.89) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Floating along on its own soft dynamic, CYDONIA retrenches itself in the dub style of yore..."
Alternative Press (6/01, p.78) - 3 out of 5 - "...Mellow dancefloor electronica laced with some inspired rhythms and catchy melodies..."
Magnet (6-7/01, p.102) - "...A welcome return to the sensual, dubby, progressive trance that marked their best work..."
The Wire (1/01, pp.63-4) - "...An extremely listenable record, full of stray moments of delightful mischief..."
Muzik (2/01, p.51) - 5 out of 5 - "...His most cohesive work to date...they manage to sound like no one elese when they put their minds to it..."
CMJ (2/26/01, p.13) - "...A gulp of electric ambient-dub Kool-Aid, sure to quench the thirst of any parched chill-out room veteran..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Once More
  2. Promis
  3. Ghostdancing
  4. Turn It Down
  5. Egnable
  6. Firestar
  7. Mile Long Lump Of Lard, A
  8. Centuries
  9. Plum Island
  10. Hamlet Of Kings
  11. 1 1 1
  12. EDM
  13. Thursdays Keeper
  14. Terminus
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Island Records (UK)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...