Metal Albums:




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Fear Factory: Burton C. Bell (vocals); Dino Cazares (guitar); Christian Oloe Wolbers (bass, background vocals); Raymond Herrera (drums).

Additional personnel includes: B-Real (rap vocals); Jordan Plotnikoff (spoken vocals); Rhys Fulber, John Bechdel (keyboards).

Recorded at Ocean Studio, Burbank, California from Spetember 30-November 4, 2000.

Japanese edition contains four bonus recording: "Dead Man Walking," "Strain Vs. Resistance," "Repentance," and "Full metal Contact."

Fear Factory was a pioneer of new metal long before the sub-genre took shape and found its name. With DIGIMORTAL, its fourth full-length release of new material, the band revisits its brand of thinking-man's sci-fi themes and painstakingly executed musicianship. Here, the battle between man and technology finds man broken, but not beaten.

In "Linchpin" and "No One" the band resolves to escape from the machines that have enslaved mankind, though these songs are faint glimmers of hope against a bleak prophecy that finds technology the new dominant paradigm. Musically, the band has grown, retaining its brutally syncopated rhythms while adding some tasty hooks and clean, melodic vocals, particularly in "Invisible Wounds." "Acres of Skin" will please thrash metal fans, while "Back the Fuck Up," featuring B. Real, is the album's metal/hip-hop showpiece.

What the critics say...

Q (5/01, p.108) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Ethereal and breathtaking..."
Alternative Press (6/01, pp.84-5) - 3 out of 5 - "...Executed without a flaw and mixed with great scutiny....more melodic and more consumable than many recent metal albums..."
CMJ (4/9/01, p.17) - "...Demented disco....DIGIMORTAL is cybercore: digitized, overdubbed metal with crunchy, machine-like production..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. What Will Become - (studio)
  2. Damaged - (studio)
  3. Digimortal - (studio)
  4. No One - (studio)
  5. Linchpin - (studio)
  6. Invisible Wounds (Dark Bodies) - (studio)
  7. Acres Of Skin - (studio)
  8. Back The F--- Up - (studio)
  9. Byte Block - (studio)
  10. Hurt Conveyor - (studio)
  11. (Memory Imprints) Never End - (studio)
  12. Dead Man Walking - (studio)
  13. Strain Us Resistance - (studio)
  14. Repentance - (studio)
  15. Full Metal Contact - (studio)
Release date Australia
March 23rd, 2001
Jvc Victor
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...