Compilation & Soundtrack Albums:


Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

Original score composed by Elliot Goldenthal.

Recorded at Manhattan Center, Zarathustra Hall, New York, New York and Churubusco Studios, Mexico City, Mexico. Includes liner notes by Elliot Goldenthal.

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

The first cut of this beautifully haunting soundtrack to an exotically seductive movie sums it up; Lila Downs's impassioned vocal and the almost ambient Latin overtones of the instrumental backing all point to a compelling trip through a mysterious Mexico that in the mid-20th century was still terra incognita to most Westerners. FRIDA is packed with musical jewels, such as the inclusion of Chavela Vargas's "Paloma Negra," recorded 40 years earlier. Vargas, a former lover of Frida Kahlo's, gives a performance that's more like a force of nature than anything else, devoid of sentimentality and yet viscerally affecting. But it's Lila Downs, who's featured throughout this soundtrack CD, who carries the show, particularly in her performance with the legendary Brazilian musician Caetano Veloso on "Burn it Blue," penned by the movie's director, Julie Taymor. Atmospheric instrumentals abound, and wonderful folk song vignettes are interspersed throughout, giving FRIDA an air of authenticity and purpose that lifts it head and shoulders above the usual run-of-the-mill Hollywood soundtrack collection.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Benediction And Dream - Lila Downs
  2. Floating Bed, The
  3. El Conejo - Los Cojolites
  4. Paloma Negra - Chavela Vargas
  5. Self-Portrait With Hair Down
  6. Alcoba Azul - Lila Downs
  7. Carabina 30/30 - El Poder Del Norte
  8. Solo Tu
  9. El Gusto - Trio Huasteco Caimanes De Tamuin
  10. Journey, The
  11. El Antifaz - Liberacion/Miguel Galindo/Alejandro Marehuala/Gerardo Garcia
  12. Suicide Of Dorothy Hale, The
  13. La Cavalera
  14. La Bruja - Salma Hayek/Los Vega
  15. Portrait Of Lupe
  16. La Llorona - Chavela Vargas
  17. Estrella Oscura - Lila Downs
  18. Still Life
  19. Viva La Vida - Trio/Marimberos
  20. Departure, The
  21. Coyoacan And Variations
  22. La Llorona - Lila Downs/Mariachi Juvenil De Tecalitlan
  23. Burning Bed
  24. Burn It Blue - Caetano Veloso/Lila Downs
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Decca (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...