Health, Mind & Body Books:

Full Blown

Me and My Bipolar Family

Format

Paperback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Full Blown by David Lovelace
Unavailable
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Description

David Lovelace, along his brother and both his parents, is bipolar. This is his extraordinary and vivid memoir of life within his memorable, maddening, loving and unique family. Full Blown is Lovelace's poignant, humorous, and vivid account of growing up and coming to terms with the highs and lows of manic depression. David's father was a Princeton-trained theology professor deemed too eccentric for the ministry and his mother battled depression all her life. Manic episodes were part of family life - they called them the 'whim-whams'. David was a teenager when his first serious depression hit, and at college when he first became manic. He ran to escape it - to Mexico, South America and then New York, to drugs and alcohol - before he realised the futility of running. A father himself, a son and a brother, David's matter-of-fact approach to growing up surrounded by the unique creativity often sparked by manic depression is compelling. In the vein of Stuart, A Life Backwards and Augusten Burroughs' Running with Scissors , David's poetic ability to detail the unique highs and harrowing lows makes a remarkable and gripping read.

Author Biography

By David Lovelace
Release date Australia
February 4th, 2010
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Harper Element
Pages
304
Dimensions
129x198x22
ISBN-13
9780007281329
Product ID
3709599

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...