Rock Albums:




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel: Shannon McNally (vocals, acoustic guitar); Charlie Sexton (vocals, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, lap steel guitar, baritone guitar, organ, pump organ, 6-string bass, percussion); Greg Leisz (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, pedal steel guitar); Ian McLagan (piano, Clavinet, Hammond b-3 organ); Tony Garnier (double bass, bass guitar); Tony Hall (bass guitar); Raymond Weber (drums); Courtney Audain (talking drum, shaker, triangle).

Recording information: Dockside Studios, Maurice, Louisiana (2005); Wire Recording, Austin, Texas.

GERONIMO is the kind of rootsy affair you'd expect from a southerner like Lucinda Williams, which makes it all the more remarkable an accomplishment coming from New Yorker Shannon McNally. But with help from producer/multi-instrumentalist Charlie Sexton, McNally easily arrives at the crossroads of soul, blues, and country. She expertly uses her honeyed twang to switch gears from Bonnie Raitt-like shuffles ("Miracle Mile") to more raucous fare reminiscent of The Allman Brothers Band ("The Hard Way").

Sexton's warm production aids the cause; among the nifty nuances are Greg Leisz's unobtrusive pedal steel guitar on the dreamy lament "The Worst Part of a Broken Heart" and the hint of steel drum that makes Taj Mahal's "Lovin' in My Baby's Eyes" all the more endearing. Like Williams, McNally writes about memorable characters, such as the innkeeper at the heart of the ethereal "Leave Your Bags By the Door." McNally has always professed love for her adopted hometown of New Orleans, so the inclusion of swamp-pop legend Bobby Charles's wistful "Tennessee Blues" is a fitting homage and a nice addendum to this Americana-inspired sophomore outing.

What the critics say...

Uncut (p.72) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A]nother bolt of country blues....A suitably lean collection..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Worst Part Of A Broken Heart, The
  2. Miracle Mile
  3. Sweet Forgiveness
  4. Geronimo
  5. Pale Moon
  6. Hard Way, The
  7. Beautiful And Strange
  8. Tennessee Blues
  9. Weathervane
  10. Leave Your Bags By The Door
  11. In The Name Of Us, Honey
  12. Lovin' In My Baby's Eyes
Release date Australia
June 28th, 2005
Back Porch Music
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help