Reggae Roots & Dub Albums:




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Gold by Burning Spear
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Burning Spear: Winston Rodney (vocals, percussion); Earl "Chinna" Smith, Valentine "Tony" Chin (guitar); Carlton Samuels (flute); Herman Marquis (alto saxophone); Richard Hall (tenor saxophone); Bobby Ellis (trumpet); Vincent Gordon (trombone); Bernard "Touter" Harvey (piano, Clavinet, organ); Robbie Shakespeare, Aston "Familyman" Barrett (bass guitar); Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace (drums); Delroy Hines, Rupert Willington (background vocals).

One of the most original and compelling artists in reggae history, Burning Spear (AKA Winston Rodney) started making hard-hitting roots music in the early 1970s. Upon the release of 1975's MARCUS GARVEY, Rodney established himself as a devoutly committed Rastafarian and a spokesperson for the rights, history, and identity of African descendents. This outstanding two-disc GOLD compilation begins, appropriately enough, with cuts from MARCUS GARVEY (Rodney's defining statement and a genre essential) and continues, over the course of two discs, to survey Burning Spear's Island Records output to the end of the 1970s.

Unlike a lot of collections, GOLD does not attempt to serve as a retrospective (Rodney was prolific well into the 2000s). This is a welcome relief, especially as the '70s were, arguably, Rodney's finest decade. Edgy, soulful, and charged with a deep sense of righteousness, Burning Spear's '70s recordings move, agitate, and inspire. That Rodney continually surrounded himself with the finest roots musicians--who add deep dread beats, dubby bass, fluid guitar fills, sharp horns, and call-and-response vocals to his inspired singing--is evident on all 28 tracks here. This is a superior compilation of Burning Spear's best work, and an ideal place to start exploring this seminal reggae artist.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Invasion, The
  2. Slavery Days
  3. Marcus Garvey
  4. Farther East Of Jack
  5. Jordon River
  6. Red, Gold & Green
  7. Black Wa-Da-Da
  8. I And I Survive
  9. Man In The Hills
  10. Door Peep
  11. Cultivation
  12. It's Good
  13. Lion
  14. Mother
Disc 2:
  1. Dry & Heavy
  2. Waiting
  3. Throw Down Your Arms
  4. Any River
  5. Black Disciples
  6. Old Marcus Garvey - (live)
  7. Social Living - (Extended mix)
  8. Civilised Reggae - (Extended mix)
  9. Come
  10. Marcus Children Suffer
  11. Institution
  12. Hail H.I.M.
  13. Road Foggy
  14. Jah No Dead - (Rockers Soundtrack Version)
Release date Australia
April 26th, 2005
Island Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...