Rock Albums:


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...





Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Gold by Cream
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Cream: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Jack Bruce (vocals, acoustic guitar, cello, harmonica, piano, organ, bass guitar); Ginger Baker (vocals, drums, percussion).

Additional personnel: George Harrison (guitar); Felix Pappalardi (viola, trumpet, organ).

Recording information: Mayfair Studios, London, England (1966 - 1968); Chalk Farm, London, England; Atlantic Studios, New York, New York; IBC Studios, London, England; Winterland, San Francisco, California.

Singer/composer Michael Gira's 1980s band Swans, with their considerable darkness/bleakness quotient, were perhaps the only outfit that could make Joy Division and Leonard Cohen sound practically jolly. Gira's Angels of Light project, however, is another matter entirely. While the Angels' music is still somewhat grim in lyrical content and vocal timbre, the overwhelmingly intense Swans-like approach has largely given way to a bittersweet melodic presentation. The autumnal, reflective tone is enhanced by Gira's neo-folk proteges Akron/Family, who serve as the backing band.

The title THE ANGELS OF LIGHT SING "OTHER PEOPLE" refers not to other songwriters, but rather songs about particular people who've inspired/affected Gira in one way or another. He must know some fascinating characters: "Michael's White Hands" is a tapestry of buzzing, jangling string instruments conveying a chant/rant about a disorienting parallel world, the likes of which the Doors' Jim Morrison used to visit. "To Live Through Someone" has a catchy lilt that recalls British Isles' folk music, and the sweetly sung background vocals provide a welcome contrast to Gira's chilly, yet strangely compassionate, old-hermit-of-the-forest delivery. For those feeling haunted the memory of someone (or some particular time), SING "OTHER PEOPLE" may be an ideal form of musical catharsis.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. I Feel Free
  2. N.S.U.
  3. Sweet Wine
  4. I'm So Glad
  5. Strange Brew
  6. Sunshine Of Your Love
  7. World Of Pain
  8. Tales Of Brave Ulysses
  9. Swlabr
  10. We're Going Wrong
  11. White Room
  12. Sitting OnTop Of The World
  13. Passing The Time
  14. Politician
  15. Those Were The Days
  16. Born Under A Bad Sign
  17. Deserted Cities Of The Heart
  18. Anyone For Tennis
  19. Badge
  20. Doing That Scrapyard Thing
  21. What A Bringdown
Disc 2:
  1. N.S.U. - (live)
  2. Sleepy Time Time - (live)
  3. Rollin' And Tumblin' - (live)
  4. Spoonful - (live)
  5. Crossroads - (live)
  6. Sunshine Of Your Love - (live)
  7. I'm So Glad - (live)
  8. Toad - (live)
Release date Australia
April 26th, 2005
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help