Country Albums:

Gravitational Forces

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Gravitational Forces



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Gravitational Forces by Robert Earl Keen
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel includes: Robert Earl Keen (vocals); Rich Brotherton (acoustic & electric guitars); Gurf Morlix (electric, steel, & baritone guitars, background vocals); Brian Duckworth (mandolin); Cody Braun (harmonica); Ian McLagan (Hammond B-3 organ); Bill Whitbeck (bass, background vocals); Tom Van Schaik (drums, percussion).

Producers: Gurf Morlix, Robert Earl Keen, Ray Kennedy.

Recorded at Arlyn Studios, Austin, Texas.

Part of a long line of Texas singer-songwriters whose ranks include Joe Ely, Jimmie Dale Gilmore and buddy Lyle Lovett, Robert Earl Keen has made his name over the years as a master storyteller. For his Lost Highway Records debut, Keen maintains this reputation with an array of eclectic characters and their exploits. Among the more notable protagonists are the down-and-out lover fleeing from a busted-up relationship to the Big Easy in "Hello New Orleans" and the homeless drifter floating through the poignant "Not A Drop Of Rain." Elsewhere, Langston Hughes, Woody Guthrie, and Cesar Chavez rub elbows in the heavenly way station of "Goin' Nowhere Blues," while a lonesome traveler wrestles with the prickly facets of heartbreak throughout "Fallin' Out."

When he's notplying his own colorful narratives, the former journalism major does a fine job of interpreting fellow troubadours. Among those artists getting their due are Johnny Cash (a gorgeous "I Still Miss Someone"), Terry Allen (the hilarious honky-tonk flavored "High Plains Jamboree"), and the dean of Texas singer-songwriters, Townes Van Zandt (the ethereal "Snowing On Raton"). GRAVITATIONAL FORCES reaffirms Robert Earl Keen's deserved place amongst the pantheon of legendary Texas raconteurs past and present.

What the critics say...

CMJ (7/30/01, p.34) - "...It's music with smarts and heart..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. My Home Ain't In The Hall Of Fame
  2. Hello New Orleans
  3. Wild Wind
  4. Not A Drop Of Rain
  5. I Still Miss Someone
  6. Fallin' Out
  7. High Plains Jamboree
  8. Walkin' Cane
  9. Goin' Nowhere Blues
  10. Snowin' On Raton
  11. Gravitational Forces
  12. Road Goes On Forever, The
Release date Australia
September 11th, 2001
Lost Highway Records
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...