Pop Albums:

Greatest Hits 1970-2002

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Greatest Hits 1970-2002



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Initial pressings of this first edition contain a bonus disc.

Recorded between 1970 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Paul Gambaccini.

All tracks have been digitally remastered.

Australian version contains the bonus track "Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word" feat. Blue.

Here you go, Elton fans--a definitive two-disc collection of some of the bespectacled one's most beloved tunes. The full gamut of Elton John's stellar career is covered here. The archetypal singer-songwriter introspection of "Your Song" kicks things off, giving way in short order to the more glam pop moments of "Honky Cat" and "Saturday Night's All Right For Fighting." The Roy Orbison-like ballad "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me" and the moving, mournful "Sorry Seems to be the Hardest Word" represent the sadder side of the usually sunny popster. The second disc digs into Elton's later work, coming up with such gems as the surprisingly rocking "I Don't Wanna Go On With You Like That" and the Beatleseque "I Want Love," the latter proving that the 21st century found Elton still standing, in artistic terms.

What the critics say...

Q (12/02, p.126) - 3 out of 5 - "...This reappraisal is wisely timed....He was a phenomenally talented barroom piano basher, capable of tender love, majestic showstoppers and poignant soul-searching..."
Q (1/04, p.136) - 4 stars out of 5 - "'Your Song' and 'Daniel' are especially beautiful."
Uncut (01/03, p.133) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...An impressive record by anyone's standards..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Your Song
  2. Tiny Dancer
  3. Honky Cat
  4. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going To Be A Long Long Time)
  5. Crocodile Rock
  6. Daniel
  7. Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting
  8. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  9. Candle In The Wind
  10. Bennie And The Jets
  11. Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me
  12. Bitch Is Back, The
  13. Philadelphia Freedom
  14. Someone Saved My Life Tonight
  15. Island Girl
  16. Don't Go Breaking My Heart
  17. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
  18. Blue Eyes
  19. I'm Still Standing
  20. I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues
  21. Sad Songs (Say So Much)
  22. Nikita
  23. Sacrifice
  24. One, The
  25. Can You Feel The Love Tonight
  26. Circle Of Life
  27. Believe
  28. Made In England
  29. Something About The Way You Look Tonight
  30. Written In The Stars
  31. I Want Love
  32. This Train Don't Stop Here Anymore
  33. Song For Guy
  34. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
Release date Australia
March 11th, 2003
Universal Records (Australia)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...