Classical & Opera Music Films:

Gustavo Dudamel - The Promise Of Music


General Audience

General Audience

Suitable for general audiences.

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Gustavo Dudamel - The Promise Of Music on DVD
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


A documentary on Gustavo Dudamel and his Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra from the director of Rhythm Is It!

The Promise of Music is a full-length feature film about the story of Gustavo Dudamel and his Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela. The film documents Dudamel preparing his orchestra in Caracas for their upcoming concert at the Beethovenfest in Bonn, in 2007. Following different musicians in their day-to-day lives, the film shows how classical music is changing the individual and their environment. The climax of the film is the Bonn concert, a stunning success with standing ovations given to every work on the programme, which includes Beethoven’s complete ‘Eroica’ Symphony and two pieces from the orchestra’s Latin-American homeland.

Director Enrique Sanchez Lansch created the award-winning documentary Rhythm Is It! about Sir Simon Rattle’s education project with the Berliner Philharmoniker. The Promise of Music is the first full-length documentary on the Venezuelan Sistema that lives up to the highest European TV standards. A unique and deeply moving look behind the scenes of one of the most talked about phenomena in the musical world of today.

The Promise of Music - Documentary
[1] Rologue
[2] First Beethoven rehearsal
[3] Jhoanna - Music schools in Venezuela
[4] Félix - Journey to El Tigre
[5] Félix and Katherine - Arrival in Caracas
[6] Diego - Violin and conducting
[7] Gustavo's childhood
[8] Jhoanna and Katherine - Dangerous moments
[9] Félix - Music or school?
[10] Jhoanna - 250.000 children and teenagers
[11] 4. Mambo
[12] Félix - Teaching in El Tigre
[13] Gustavo - Picking up conducting
[14] Gran Concerto in F sharp minor for double bass
[15] Excerpt
[16] Gustavo - The new National Children's Orchestra
[17] Preparations for the journey
[18] Diego - The future
[19] Katherine and Jhoanna - The future
[20] Excerpt
[21] The Beethoven Hall
[22] The Concert

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827)
Symphony No.3 in E flat, Op.55 -"Eroica"
[24] 1. Allegro con brio
[25] 2. Marcia funebre (Adagio assai)
[26] 3. Scherzo (Allegro vivace)
[27] 4. Finale (Allegro molto)
Jose Pablo Moncayo
[28] Huapango
Alberto Ginastera
[29] 4. Danza final (Malambo)
Release date Australia
August 26th, 2008
Movie Format
  • DVD
DVD Region
  • Region 4
  • Standard Edition
Aspect Ratio
  • 1.78 : 1
  • Musical
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...