Pop Albums:

Hymns To The Silence

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Hymns To The Silence



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Hymns To The Silence by Van Morrison
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Personnel: Van Morrison (vocals, guitar, harmonica, alto saxophone); Steve Gregory (flute, baritone saxophone); Kate St. John (English horn); Neil Drinkwater (accordion, piano, synthesizer); Candy Dulfer (alto saxophone); Haji Ahkba (flugelhorn); Eddie Friel (piano, organ, synthesizer); Georgie Fame (piano, organ, background vocals); Terry Disley (piano); Derek Bell (synthesizer); Nicky Scott, Steve Pearce (bass); Dave Early (drums, percussion); Paul Robinson (drums); Carol Kenyon, Katie Kissoon (background vocals); The Chieftains.

Recorded at The Wool Hall Studios, Bath, England; The Townhouse, Westside Studios and Pavillion Studios, London, England.

A double CD at this stage of his career came as a surprise, but a double CD this good, came as a shock. Morrison had a great deal to say in 1991 about his childhood and his faith; much of it came through on this record in a much less oblique way than we had been used to. The spoken dialogue on "On Hyndford Street" is intensely personal and revealing. For once, we were hearing Morrison's thoughts. Morrison clearly has religion but on this riveting record he refused to preach. Georgie Fame continued to add familiarity to the sound and this was the best Morrison album for many, many years.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (5/13/99, p.56) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."
Spin (11/91) - Highly Recommended- "...more diverse than all nine '80s albums put together..."
Q (10/91) - 3 Stars - Good - "...beautifully played assortment of R&B, country, and church (both black and white)..."
Down Beat (1/92, p.38) - 3.5 Stars - Good Plus - "...full of what Morrison does best...rollicking R&B boogie, hushed folk-rock, swinging jazz, and Irish folk..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Professional Jealousy
  2. I'm Not Feeling It Anymore
  3. Ordinary Life
  4. Some Peace of Mind
  5. So Complicated
  6. I Can't Stop Loving You
  7. Why Must I Always Explain
  8. Village Idiot
  9. See Me Through Part II (Just A Closer Walk With Thee)
  10. Take Me Back
Disc 2:
  1. By His Grace
  2. All Saints Day
  3. Hymns To The Silence
  4. On Hyndford Street
  5. Be Thou My Vision
  6. Carrying A Torch
  7. Green Mansions
  8. Pagan Streams
  9. Quality Street
  10. It Must Be You
  11. I Need Your Loving
Release date Australia
September 24th, 1991
Album Length (Minutes)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...