R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

Illadelph Halflife



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Illadelph Halflife by The Roots
or 4 payments of $5.50 with Learn more
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 9-15 July using Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
  • Around 10-17 July using standard courier delivery


The Roots: Rahzel "The Godfather Of Noyze" (vocals, various instruments); The Brother "-uestlove" -uestion (vocals, keyboards, drums, percussion); Tariq "Black Thought" Trotter, Malik "M-Ill-itant" B. (vocals); Leonard Nelson "Hub" Hubbard (cello, keyboards, bass); Kamal (keyboards, sleigh bells).

Additional personnel: D'Angelo, Cassandra Wilson, Scratch, Angela Slates, Common, Amel Larrieux, Ursula Rucker, Dice Raw (vocals); Steve Coleman, Graham Haynes, Josh Roseman (horns); Scott Storch (keyboards); Julia Haines, Raphael Saadiq, Spanky, Tracey, Fatin, Lee Andrews, Bad Lieutenant, Kelo, Bahamadia, Dice Raw, M.A.R.S., David Murray, Q-tip, The Jazzyfatnastees.

Producers include: The Brother -uestion, Kelo, Chaos, The Grand Negaz.

Principally recorded in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

ILLADELPH HALFLIFE represents an advancement in hip-hop that has been a long time in the making. Like Gang Starr, A Tribe Called Quest and the Wu-Tang Clan, the Roots sought to widen hip-hop's scope with their debut album, DO YOU WANT MORE-!!!--!, which incorporated live instruments and a jazzy funk feel. Critics praised it, but the band's positive messages didn't quite get through to rap's core audience (nor, it should be noted, did the Fugees' the first time around). It was as if the band had started teaching before its students were listening.

With ILLADELPH HALFLIFE, the Roots have opted for a closer relationship with the boom-bap sound of true hip-hop, and they've managed to do so without letting go of the elements that made their debut special. Vocalists Black Thought and Malik B. still inject lyrical science into their rhymes, and here they're joined by fellow rap-educators Q-Tip (on "Ital"), Bahamadia ("Push Up Ya Lighter") and Common Sense ("UNIverse At War"). With ILLADELPH HALFLIFE, the Roots should finally make a very significant mark on the world of hip-hop.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (11/14/96, pp.114-116) - 3.5 Stars (out of 5) "...still highlighting urban blight but not drowning in despair and hopelessness....the Roots are not afraid to take rap to places it's never been. Hip-hop manifested for the new millenium..."
Spin (1/97, p.59) - Ranked #20 on Spin's list of the "20 Best Albums of '96."
Spin (10/96, p.130) - 9 (out of 10) - "...Discarding the two-dimensional shuffle B-Boys have been doing of late, the moves on this album holler equal parts glee, anger, love, and hate....It's an artistic progression, and added confirmation of the Roots' place at hip-hop's vanguard."
Entertainment Weekly (9/27/96, pp.80-81) - "...the Roots prove doubters wrong with bugged-out rhymes and jazzy live instrumentations....with guests like Q-Tip, D'Angelo and jazz diva Cassandra Wilson, the Roots will have `fans listenin' from Michigan to Switzerland'...in no time." - Rating: A-
Alternative Press (2/97, p.68) - 3 (out of 5) - "...the Roots built a disc that takes listeners on a patient, freestyle rhyming trip through some of their psyches' darker streets..."
Vibe (10/96, p.138) - "...the Philly crew bob and weave past potential sophomore slump with the vigor of a sprightly Smokin' Joe Frazier....ILLADELPH HALFLIFE also attempts to expand the Roots' sound by blending samples and inviting guest vocalists..."
The Source (10/96, p.117) - 4.5 Mics (out of 5) - "...an emotional and spiritually-fulfilling aural experience....the Roots blend vibes with a cornucopia of rappers, vocalists and artists..."
Melody Maker (10/12/96, p.18) - "...Melancholy and bliss combined. The Roots have perfected their narco drift. Navigating dub space, they veer from classical exotica to free jazz to African thumb piano and further out still..."
Rap Pages (10/96, p.33) - "...The Roots' sophomore album...sets the standard for all other MCs to follow as they prepare for the next millennium....They are the saving grace of a phoenix, and this is Hip-Hop."
Village Voice (2/25/97) - Ranked #33 in the Village Voice's 1996 Pazz & Jop Critics' Poll.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Intro
  2. Respond/React
  3. Section
  4. Panic!!!!!!!
  5. It Just Don't Stop
  6. Episodes
  7. Push Up Ya Lighter
  8. What They Do
  9. - Vs. Scratch (The Token DJ Cut)
  10. Concerto Of The Desperado
  11. Clones
  12. Universe At War
  13. No Alibi
  14. Dave Vs. US
  15. No Great Pretender
  16. Hypnotic, The
  17. Ital (The Universal Side)
  18. One Shine
  19. Adventures In Wonderland, The
  20. Outro
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Geffen Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...