Non-Fiction Books:

In Pursuit of Silence

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

In Pursuit of Silence

Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise

Format

Hardback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In Pursuit of Silence: Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise by George Prochnik
Unavailable
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Description

More than money, power, and even happiness, silence has become the most precious--and dwindling--commodity of our modern world. Between iPods, music-blasting restaurants, earsplitting sports stadiums, and endless air and road traffic, the place for quiet in our lives grows smaller by the day. "In Pursuit of Silence" gives context to our increasingly desperate sense that noise pollution is, in a very real way, an environmental catastrophe. Listening to doctors, neuroscientists, acoustical engineers, monks, activists, educators, marketers, and aggrieved citizens, George Prochnik examines why we began to be so loud as a society, and what it is that gets lost when we can no longer find quiet. He shows us the benefits of decluttering our sonic world. As Prochnik travels across the United States and overseas, we meet a rich host of characters: an idealistic architect who is pioneering a new kind of silent architecture in collaboration with the Deaf community at Gallaudet University; a special operations soldier in Afghanistan (and former guitarist with Nirvana) who places silence at the heart of survival in war; a sound designer for shopping malls who ensures that the stores we visit never stop their auditory seductions; and a group of commuters who successfully revolted against piped-in music in Grand Central Station. A brilliant, far-reaching exploration of the frontiers of noise and silence, and the growing war between them, "In Pursuit of Silence" is an important book that will appeal to fans of Michael Pollan and Daniel Gilbert.

Author Biography

GEORGE PROCHNIK is the author of "Putnam Camp: Sigmund Freud, James Jackson Putnam, and the Purpose of American Psychology," a "New York Times" "Editor's Choice" pick and winner of a 2007 Gradiva Award. He has written for the "New York Times," the "Boston Globe," "Playboy," and "Cabinet" magazine, among other publications. He lives in Brooklyn. www.inpursuitofsilence.com
Release date Australia
April 6th, 2010
Country of Publication
United States
Imprint
Doubleday Books
Pages
342
Dimensions
166x216x32
ISBN-13
9780385528887
Product ID
3958055

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...