Rock Albums:

Inflammable Material [Remaster]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Inflammable Material [Remaster]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


This release contains bonus audio interview.

Stiff Little Fingers: Jake Burns, Henry Cluney (vocals, guitar); Ali McMordie (bass guitar); Brian Faloon (drums).

Recording information: 1979.

Stiff Little Fingers came roaring out of Northern Ireland in 1979 with a ferocity and sense of black humor that could only have come from growing up in a war zone. While other contemporaries (such as the Undertones) tried their best to rise above the conflict in pop's embrace, Stiff Little Fingers chose to address the daily indignities and injustices head-on. Aggressive punk anthems such as "Wasted Life," which rejects violence as a solution, and the call-to-arms "Alternative Ulster," which envisions the creation of a new social order, are based in SLF's political awareness.

INFLAMMABLE MATERIAL is among the most powerful political albums in punk rock history. Besides the government and military, the band tackles record company shenanigans on "Rough Trade," and the difficulty in loving someone from the wrong side of the fence, as in "Barbed Wire Love." Either way, Stiff Little Fingers managed to make even the worst scenarios come alive with black humor and gleefully guttural vocals. An oft neglected punk classic and a must for all serious students of the genre.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (No. 975, p.79) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]he Fingers' potent 1979 debut, teems with harsh, desperate commentary on 'the Troubles' in Northern Ireland..."
Q (5/02 SE, p.142) - Included in Q's "100 Best Punk Albums".
Q (12/01, p.165) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...The genuine voice of youthful outrage..."
Mojo (Publisher) (3/03, p.76) - Ranked #12 in Mojo's "Top 50 Punk Albums" - "The Belfast quartet's inspired debut was the first independent album to make the Top 20..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Suspect Device
  2. State Of Emergency
  3. Here We Are Nowhere
  4. Wasted Life
  5. No More Of That
  6. Barbed Wire Love
  7. White Noise
  8. Breakout
  9. Law And Order
  10. Rough Trade
  11. Johnny Was
  12. Alternative Ulster
  13. Closed Groove
  14. Suspect Device - (bonus track single version)
  15. 78 rpm
  16. Jake Burns Interview - (by Alan Parker Part One)
Release date Australia
April 5th, 2005
Restless Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...