Rock Albums:


Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Jukebox by Cat Power
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Cat Power: Chan Marshall (vocals); Judah Bauer (guitar); Gregg Foreman (piano); Erik Paparazzi (bass guitar); Jim White (drums).

Additional personnel: Matt Sweeney, Teenie Hodges (guitar); Dylan Willemsa (viola); Spooner Oldham (organ); Larry McDonald (percussion).

After establishing herself on the 2007 Matador-released album THE GREATEST as the indie world's answer to Norah Jones, Cat Power's Chan Marshall returned to the format of 2000's THE COVERS ALBUM for JUKEBOX, tackling tracks made famous by Hank Williams ("Ramblin' (Wo)man"), Bob Dylan ("I Believe in You"), James Brown ("Lost Someone"), and Frank Sinatra ("New York"), among many others. Marshall proved herself a unique interpreter on THE COVERS ALBUM, deftly folding a diverse set of songs into her own dark, dreamy sonic world. She expertly stays the course on JUKEBOX, sublimating the masculine bravado of songs by these artists into her own muscular yet decidedly feminine musical template.

JUKEBOX contains only one new Cat Power composition ("Song to Bobby"), but the many facets of Marshall are on full display here. And though the soul influence of THE GREATEST appears only fleetingly, it makes for what is perhaps the album's best performance, "Woman Left Lonely," a song written by Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham and made famous by Janis Joplin. The track finds Marshall offering her audience, as she did on THE GREATEST, a glimpse of her raw vulnerability stripped bare of any arty concessions to the tortured psyche by which she defined herself for so many years.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. New York (Originally popularised by Frank Sinatra)
  2. Ramblin' (Wo)man (Originally popularised by Hank Williams)
  3. Metal Heart
  4. Silver Stallion (Originally popularised by The Highwaymen)
  5. Aretha, Sing One For Me (Originally popularised by George Jackson)
  6. Lost Someone (Originally popularised by James Brown)
  7. Lord, Help The Poor & Needy (Originally popularised by Jessie Mae Hemphill)
  8. I Believe In You (Originally popularised by Bob Dylan)
  9. Song To Bobby
  10. Don't Explain (Originally popularised by Billie Holiday / Nina Simone)
  11. Woman Left Lonely (Originally popularised by Janis Joplin)
  12. Blue (Originally popularised by Joni Mitchell)
  13. Breathless (Originally popularised by Nick Cave)
Release date Australia
January 21st, 2008
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help