Rock Albums:

Legacy: The Absolute Best Of The Doors

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Legacy: The Absolute Best Of The Doors



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Doors: Jim Morrison (vocals); Robby Krieger (guitar); Ray Manzarek (keyboards); John Densmore (drums).

Producers: Pual A. Rothchild, Bruce Botnick, The Doors.

Compilation producers: The Doors, David McLees.

Recorded between 1967 & 1983. Includes liner notes by Jim Ladd.

Australian version features two bonus tracks.

There's been no shortage of Doors compilations over the years, but this two-disc 2003 collection is looking like the one to beat. It spans the seminal band's entire (though admittedly brief) career, and perhaps most importantly, it goes well beyond the usual hits and radio fodder. LEGACY digs deep into the Doors' catalog, fully capturing the mysterious beauty and hypnotic intensity of their work. Naturally all the standards are included ("Light My Fire," "Love Me Two Times," "Hello, I Love You," etc.), and truth be told those are fully as majestic as their more obscure brethren, whether or not they've been overplayed throughout the decades.

It's a pleasure to scour the less traveled corners via the poetic-yet-visceral "Peace Frog," the twisted carnival of souls that is "Not to Touch the Earth," and the mystical narrative of "Celebration of the Lizard." "Strange Days" is true psychedelia, full of transcendent intrigue and absent of flower-power nostalgia. "Tell All the People" is something of a celebratory anomaly with a gospel-revival tint. Traveling the full breadth of the Doors' recordings makes one realize exactly why their appeal has lasted for so long.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Break On Through (To The Other Side) - (studio)
  2. Back Door Man - (studio)
  3. Light My Fire - (studio)
  4. Twentieth Century Fox - (studio)
  5. Crystal Ship - (studio)
  6. Alabama Song (Whiskey Bar) - (studio)
  7. Riders On The Storm (Pnau Club Mix) - (studio)
  8. End - (studio)
  9. Love Me Two Times - (studio)
  10. People Are Strange - (studio)
  11. When The Music's Over - (studio)
  12. My Eyes Have Seen You - (studio)
  13. Moonlight Drive - (studio)
  14. Strange Days - (studio)
  15. Hello I Love You - (studio)
  16. Unknown Soldier - (studio)
  17. Spanish Caravan - (studio)
  18. Five To One - (studio)
  19. Not To Touch The Earth - (studio)
  20. Touch Me - (studio)
  21. Wild Child - (studio)
  22. Tell All The People - (studio)
  23. Wishful Sinful - (studio)
  24. Roadhouse Blues - (studio)
  25. Waiting For The Sun - (studio)
  26. You Make Me Real - (studio)
  27. Peace Frog - (studio)
  28. Love Her Madly - (studio)
  29. L.A. Woman - (studio)
  30. Riders On The Storm - (studio)
  31. Wasp (& The Texas Radio) - (studio)
  32. Changeling - (studio)
  33. Gloria (Live Version) - (studio)
  34. Celebration Of The Lizard (previously unreleased) - (studio)
Release date Australia
October 6th, 2003
Rhino Records (Australia)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...