R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

Live At The Apollo Vol. 2: Deluxe Edition

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Live At The Apollo Vol. 2: Deluxe Edition



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


LIVE AT THE APOLLO VOL. 2 DELUXE EDITION contains the tracks, emcee patter, intermission music and songs as they were recorded in this live performance. Previous versions of LIVE AT THE APOLLO VOL. 2 had been cut to fit on vinyl sides.

Personnel includes: James Brown (vocals, organ, drums); Sad Sam, Frankie Crocker (spoken vocals); Alfonzo "Country" Kellum (guitar, bass); Jimmy "Chank" Nolan (guitar); Vivian Robinson, Richard Jones, Marilyn Jones (violin); Alfred "Pee Wee" Ellis (alto saxophone, organ); St. Clair Pinckney (tenor & baritone saxophones); Eldee Williams, Maceo Parker (tenor saxophone); Waymon Reed, Joe Dupars (trumpet); Levi Rasbury (trombone); Bernard Odum (bass); Ronald Selico (drums, bongos); Clyde Stubblefield, John "Jabo" Starks (drums); Bobby Byrd, Bobby Bennett (background vocals).

Producers include: James Brown, Harry Weinger, Alan Leeds.

Recorded live at The Apollo Theatre, New York, New York fropm June 16-25, 1967. Originally released on King Records (1022). Includes liner notes by Alan Leeds.

All tracks have been digitally remastered.

James Brown's LIVE AT THE APOLLO VOLUME 2 was not recorded during the same 1963 dates as the legendary original, but five years later, during another stand at the Harlem theater. This set is every bit the equal of its better-known predecessor, and was recorded at a key point in Brown's career. The year 1968, of course, was a tumultuous one both politically and socially, and although it wasn't until later in the year that Brown first recorded the epochal "Say It Loud (I'm Black and I'm Proud)," he and his band were already clearly incorporating both the black-is-beautiful ethos and, on the epic 20-minute version of "It's A Man's Man's Man's World," the increasingly loose, funky sound of younger bands like Sly and the Family Stone.

The two-disc Deluxe Edition recreates an entire evening's performance, including a solo turn by Brown's veteran warm-up act, Bobby Byrd (doing Arthur Conley's "Sweet Soul Music"), and an intermission version of Duke Ellington's "Caravan" by Brown's band. This is among the most essential live James Brown documents.

What the critics say...

Q (9/01, p.128) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...It shows the midpoint between the showtime/balladeering Brown and the Minister Of The New Super Heavy Funk that came later..."
Living Blues (1-2/02, p.60) - "...Greatly expanded...stretching the original to 2 CDs...reconstructing the original show..."
Mojo (Publisher) (1/02, p.69) - Included in Mojo's "Best Reissues of 2001".
Mojo (Publisher) (9/01, p.122) - "...The band was Brown's best ever....Here, blistering, full-length versions of the great strides in funk...are interspersed with a couple of the older ballads....It's a deluxe edition that offers the best seat in the house..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Introduction To The James Brown Show - (with Frankie Crocker)
  2. Think - (with Marva Whitney)
  3. I Wanna Be Around
  4. James Brown (Thanks)
  5. That's Life
  6. Kansas City
  7. Sweet Soul Music - (with Bobby Byrd)
  8. It's A Man's Man's Man's World / Lost Someone / When A Man Loves A Woman
  9. Caravan - (with The James Brown Band/The J.B Dancers)
Disc 2:
  1. Introduction To Star Time! - (with Frankie Crocker/Sad Sam)
  2. Money Won't Change You / Out Of Sight
  3. Bring It Up
  4. Try Me
  5. Let Yourself Go
  6. There Was A Time
  7. I Feel All Right
  8. Cold Sweat
  9. Prisoner Of Love
  10. My Girl - (Instrumental Interlude instrumental)
  11. Maybe The Last Time
  12. I Got You (I Feel Good)
  13. Please, Please, Please
  14. Bring It Up (Finale)
Release date Australia
June 26th, 2001
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...