Pop Albums:

Live At The Grand Opera House Belfast [Remaster]

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Live At The Grand Opera House Belfast [Remaster]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Live At The Grand Opera House Belfast [Remaster] by Van Morrison
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Personnel: Van Morrison (vocals, guitar, saxophone, piano); Chris Michie (guitar); Pee Wee Ellis (flute, saxophone, background vocals); Mark Isham (trumpet, synthesizer); John Allair (piano, organ); David Hayes (bass); Peter Van Hooke, Tom Donlinger (drums); Katie Kissoon, Bianca Thornton, Carol Kenyon (background vocals).

Recorded live at the Grand Opera House, Belfast, Northern Ireland on March 11th & 12th, 1983.

All tracks have been digitally remastered from the original master tapes.

LIVE AT THE GRAND OPERA HOUSE BELFAST showcases Van Morrison's best material from the late 1970s and early 1980s. During this period, Morrison rarely performed the early 1970s songs ("Moondance," "Domino," etc.) for which he is best known. Instead, his sets favored newer, more spiritual numbers from albums like INTO THE MUSIC and BEAUTIFUL VISION. In fact, six of the eleven songs on LIVE AT THE GRAND OPERA HOUSE BELFAST first appeared on BEAUTIFUL VISION.

These live recordings--vital, inspired, and punchy--represent a marked improvement over the more subdued studio versions of these songs. Best of all are a revved up "Cleaning Windows," a Zen tribute to manual labor; "She Gives Me Religion;" and "Full Force Gale," a foot-stomping homage to unadulterated faith in God. Longtime James Brown sideman Pee Wee Ellis appears on saxophone and flute, and Van takes a stab at a sax solo himself, much to the audience's delight. Those looking for live versions of Van's early hits should check out IT'S TOO LATE TO STOP NOW, a concert album recorded in 1974.

What the critics say...

Q (5/95, p.125) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...all kinds of flying joys to be kissed, all sorts of wonder to be sensed, all manner of musical marvelment."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Introduction: Into The Mystic (Instrumental) / Inarticulate Speech Of The Heart
  2. Dweller On The Threshold
  3. It's All In The Game / You Know What They're Writing About
  4. She Gives Me Religion
  5. Haunts Of Ancient Peace
  6. Full Force Gale
  7. Beautiful Vision
  8. Vanlose Stairway
  9. Rave On John Donne / Rave On Part Two
  10. Northern Muse (Solid Ground)
  11. Cleaning Windows
Release date Australia
July 14th, 1998
Album Length (Minutes)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...