Metal Albums:

Live Era '87-'93 [Explicit Lyrics]

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Live Era '87-'93 [Explicit Lyrics]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Live Era '87-'93 [Explicit Lyrics] by Guns N' Roses
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Guns N' Roses: W. Axl Rose (vocals); Slash, Izzy Stradlin (guitar); Dizzy Reed (keyboards); Duff McKagan (bass); Steven Adler (drums).

Additional personnel: Gilby Clarke (guitar); Matt Sorum (drums); Teddy Zig Zag Anoreadis, Roberta Freeman, Tracey Amos, Cece Worrall, Anne King, Lisa Maxwell.

Engineers include: Chuck Reed, Bryan Golder, Eric Caudieux.

Recorded live between 1987 and 1993.

The six years these performances represent include all lineups of the band until it broke under the weight of Axl Rose's temper and ego. Guns' unflinchingly rebellious music addressed life on the streets and among the band's most incendiary material were songs about the school of hard knocks ("Welcome to the Jungle"), drugs ("Mr. Brownstone"), and mortality ("Dust n' Bones"). The only time this dangerous edge became worrisome was when the band cut "I Used to Love Her," a catchy number that attracted the ire of many people because of its flip treatment of abuse in a relationship.

Much of G N' R's oeuvre may have been fueled by the snarling guitars of Slash and Izzy Stradlin (and later Gilby Clarke), but later songs were impressive epics swept up in passion, including the larger-than-life "November Rain" and the lesser-known but equally impressive "Estranged." Beneath the tattoos and snarls, Guns N' Roses also had a more sensitive side that can be heard on the bittersweet "Yesterdays" and this package's only previously unreleased number, the transformation of Black Sabbath's "It's Alright" into a piano-driven solo piece sang and played by Axl Rose.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (1/20/00, p.56) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...visceral evidence of a time when Guns n' Roses ruled the Earth and every show was 'A Rock N Roll Bash Where Everyone's Smashed'."
Q (1/00, p.138) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...leans on the more credible hellfire days of 1987's APPETITE FOR DESTRUCTION and 1989's G'N'R LIES....tightly wound moshpit napalm as 'Nightrain', 'Welcome To The Jungle', and 'Mr Brownstone'..."
CMJ (12/27/99, p.22) - " orgy of raunchy, sweaty, ferocious rock....proves that Guns N' Roses, at its peak, actually lived up to its still-snowballing legend..."
Mojo (Publisher) (1/00, p.98) - "...captures the raw, heady rush of their zenith with goosebump-raising live versions of classics 'Nightrain', 'Mr. Brownstone', and 'Welcome To The Jungle'....a surprisingly welcome whiff of patchouli..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Nightrain
  2. Mr. Brownstone
  3. It's So Easy
  4. Welcome To The Jungle
  5. Dust N' Bones
  6. My Michelle
  7. You're Crazy
  8. Used To Love Her
  9. Patience
  10. It's Alright
  11. November Rain
Disc 2:
  1. Out Ta Get Me
  2. Pretty Tied Up
  3. Yesterdays
  4. Move To The City
  5. You Could Be Mine
  6. Rocket Queen
  7. Sweet Child O' Mine
  8. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
  9. Don't Cry
  10. Estranged
  11. Paradise City
Release date Australia
November 30th, 1999
Geffen Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...