Metal Albums:

Lullabies To Paralyze (+ Bonus CD)

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Lullabies To Paralyze (+ Bonus CD)

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Canadian import version includes two bonus tracks and a bonus disc with six live tracks.

On SONGS FOR THE DEAF, Queens of the Stone Age became a rock supergroup, consisting of vocalist/guitarist Joshua Homme (Kyuss), vocalist/bassist Nick Oliveri (Dwarves), vocalist Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees), and drummer Dave Grohl (Nirvana, Foo Fighters). This lineup effectively blew other heavy-rock acts out of the water, and seriously raised the band's profile. By the time of 2005's LULLABIES TO PARALYZE, however, Oliveri had acrimoniously departed the group, while Grohl and Lanegan had returned to their own projects, leaving Homme as the sole member.

Admirably, Homme plows ahead on LULLABIES TO PARALYZE with the assistance of multi-instrumentalists Troy Van Leeuwen and Alain Johannes and drummer Joey Castillo. Lanegan returns as a guest on the haunting opener, "This Lullaby," and his gravelly vocals provide a fitting link between the old and new QOTSA incarnations. Homme wastes no time getting to his intense brand of riff-heavy rock with the amped-up one-two punch of "Medication" and "Everybody Knows That You Are Insane." Elsewhere Homme conjures up moody, mid-tempo songs, most notably "Burn the Witch," a lumbering tune that features Lanegan and ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons. While it would be nearly impossible to top SONGS FOR THE DEAF, Homme sticks to his strengths on LULLABIES, and the result is another fierce rock record.

What the critics say...

Spin (p.99) - "[A]n eclectic, rippin' record....The sexy glam stomps, clipped speed-riffs, and sludgy space-jams are still in effect and plenty hot." - Grade: B
Entertainment Weekly (No. 812, p.70) - "[H]ammer of the Gods-heavy, this is an album many hard-rock fans would willingly risk deafness to hear cranked up loud..." - Grade: B
Uncut (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[F]resh, strange and exciting."
Alternative Press (p.130) - 5 out of 5 - "Led by Josh Homme, possessor of the classiest falsetto and most distinct guitar tone in rock, the Queens have done it again..."
Magnet (p.53) - Ranked #9 in Magnet's "The 20 Best Albums Of 2005" - "The piston-precise rhythms and bull-god guitars power everything from witchy metal scorned-dude sex laments..."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.86) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[I]t's intimate, multi-layered and uplifting. The sound of one of rock's most insidious songwriters drawing breath."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. This Lullaby - (studio)
  2. Medication - (studio)
  3. Everybody Knows That You're Insane - (studio)
  4. Tangled Up In Plaid - (studio)
  5. Burn The Witch - (studio)
  6. In My Head - (studio)
  7. Little Sister - (studio)
  8. I Never Came - (studio)
  9. Someone's In The Wolf - (studio)
  10. Blood Is Love - (studio)
  11. Skin On Skin - (studio)
  12. Broken Box - (studio)
  13. You Got A Killer Scene There, Man - (studio)
  14. Long Slow Goodbye - (studio)
  15. Like A Drug (bonus track) - (studio)
  16. Precious & Grace (bonus track) - (studio)
  17. Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret (Live Version) - (studio)
  18. Little Sister (Live Version) - (studio)
  19. In My Head (Live Version) - (studio)
  20. No One Knows (Live Version) - (studio)
  21. Songs For The Dead (Live Version) - (studio)
  22. Regular John (Live Version) - (studio)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Universal Records (Canada)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...