Pop Albums:

Motown and Motown Two

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Motown and Motown Two



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel include: Michael McDonald (vocals); Toni Braxton (vocals); Michael Thompson (guitar); Stevie Wonder (harmonica); Tim Carmon (piano, Wurlitzer piano, organ, synthesizer); Billy Preston (Hammond b-3 organ); Nathan East (bass guitar); Simon Climie (programming, background vocals); Toby Baker (keyboard programming); Sharon White, Lawrence Johnson , Rachel Oteh, Michelle John, Joy Malcomb (background vocals).

Michael McDonald's first disc of Motown covers signaled a popular rebirth for the veteran blue-eyed-soul singer, garnering several Grammy nominations and reaching the Top 20 on the Billboard chart. The project was a critical and artistic success as well, the sound of Diana, Marvin, et al proving a perfect match for McDonald's voice. Happily, the second volume seems born of a genuine desire to keep the good vibes going.

MOTOWN TWO again pairs the former Doobie Brother with a collection of A-list pop studio musicians (bassist Nathan East, drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, etc.), but also features several key cameos. Stevie Wonder contributes his immediately identifiable harmonica stylings on “I Was Made to Love Her,” while Toni Braxton proves a worthy heir to the Motown divas of yore on “Stop, Look, Listen (To Your Heart).” Interestingly enough, the smooth production style and the Teddy Pendergrass-esque gruffness of McDonald's voice often make the record seem more like 1970s Philadelphia than '60s Detroit. A rare genre-specific covers album that sounds like a tribute instead of a retread, MOTOWN TWO is an unusually satisfying sequel.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. I Heard It Through The Grapevine
  2. You Are Everything
  3. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours
  4. I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
  5. Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing
  6. Reflections
  7. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
  8. Ain't No Mountain High Enough
  9. All In Love Is Fair
  10. I Want You
  11. Distant Lover
  12. I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)
  13. Since I Lost My Baby
  14. You're All I Need To Get By (Album Version)
  15. I Was Made To Love Her (Album Version)
  16. Reach Out, I'll Be There (Album Version)
  17. Stop, Look, Listen (To Your Heart) (Album Version)
  18. Baby I Need Your Loving (Album Version)
  19. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever (Album Version)
  20. The Tracks Of My Tears (Album Version)
  21. What's Going On (Album Version)
  22. I Second That Emotion (Album Version)
  23. After The Dance (Album Version)
  24. Nowhere To Run (Album Version)
  25. Tuesday Heartbreak (Album Version)
  26. Mercy Mercy Me (Album Version)
  27. Baby I'm For Real (Album Version)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Motown Records
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...