Rock Albums:

Number Ones

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Number Ones



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Bee Gees: Barry Gibb (vocals, guitar); Robin Gibb (vocals); Maurice Gibb (piano, organ, Mellotron, bass guitar, background vocals).

While hardcore Bee Gees fans wanting a comprehensive anthology of the masterful pop trio's work will be happier with the generous two-disc THEIR GREATEST HITS: THE RECORD, anyone desirous of a concise thumbnail sketch of the group's output will be well served by NUMBER ONES. As indicated by the title, all the tracks here were No. 1 hits, from late-1960s ballads such as "World" and "Massachusetts" to '70s disco staples "Night Fever" and "Stayin' Alive," and beyond.

Listening to some of the Gibb Brothers' early smashes, it's remarkable how they wedded such frothy pop melodies to such undeniably dark subjects; "I've Gotta Get a Message to You" is sung from the perspective of a murderer on death row, and "I Started a Joke" finds the narrator the subject of a cosmic joke whose punch line he delivers by dying. The Gibbs clearly lightened (and limbered) up a bit by the '70s, when soul and dance influences crept in ("Jive Talkin'," "You Should Be Dancing"), but never lost their knack for heavenly ballads ("How Deep Is Your Love," "Too Much Heaven"). Sadly, the one new song here ("Man in the Middle") is a tribute to Maurice Gibb, whose 2003 death caused the end of the group, but NUMBER ONES stands as a testament to the magic the three brothers made together.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Massachusetts
  2. World
  3. Words
  4. I've Gotta Get A Message To You
  5. I Started A Joke
  6. Don't Forget To Remember
  7. Lonely Days
  8. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart
  9. Jive Talkin'
  10. You Should Be Dancing
  11. Love So Right
  12. How Deep Is Your Love
  13. Stayin' Alive
  14. Night Fever
  15. Too Much Heaven
  16. Tragedy
  17. Love You Inside Out
  18. You Win Again
  19. Man In The Middle - (bonus track)
Release date Australia
November 9th, 2004
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help