Rock Albums:

Ocean Avenue

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"A great album"
5 stars"

This is a great album, and probably yellowcard's best one. all of the songs are really good.


This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

Yellowcard: Ryan Key (vocals, guitar, bass); Sean Mackin (vocals, violin); Benjamin Harper (guitar); Longineu Parsons (drums).

Additional personnel: Alieka Wijnvelat (vocals); Rodney Wirtz (viola); Christine Choi (cello); Peter Mosely (piano, bass).

Recorded at Sunset Sound, Hollywood, California between February & March 2003.

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

Yellowcard's major-label debut is that rarity in latter-day punk-rock--a nuanced, almost subtle collection of distinctive songs with lyrics sensitive enough to reference moonlight, the ocean, and DEATH OF A SALESMAN, amongst its more usual expressions of post-teen angst. (And, by the way, they also have a violinist.) But, far from consigning them to the ranks of the irredeemably nerdy, OCEAN AVENUE is the sound of a young band flexing its imaginative muscle and emerging from behind the one-sound-fits-all sonic shadow of Green Day to produce a singularly distinctive collection of songs.

Sure, the album's opening salvo "Way Away" is straight out of the SoCal punk rock playbook, but by the shimmering intro to "Only One" it's increasingly obvious that there's more on offer here than one-dimensional posturing. It's not that Yellowcard are any slouches in the sonic thrash department, as evidenced by the breathless rush of "Twentythree"--it's just that they're not afraid to let their strong lyrics and musical smarts speak for them as much as their twentysomething stamina.

What the critics say...

CMJ (7/21/03, p.6) - "...By simply adding a classically trained violinist into its mix, Yellowcard has already masterfully set itself apart....giant hooks and undeniably catchy choruses...are propelled to monstrous levels by Sean Mackin's violin..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Way Away
  2. Breathing
  3. Ocean Avenue
  4. Empty Apartment
  5. Life Of A Salesman
  6. Only One
  7. Miles Apart
  8. Twenty-Three
  9. View From Heaven
  10. Inside Out
  11. Believe
  12. One Year, Six Months
  13. Back Home
Release date Australia
July 22nd, 2003
Capitol/EMI Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options