R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

Paid Tha Cost To Be Da Boss

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Paid Tha Cost To Be Da Boss



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Paid Tha Cost To Be Da Boss by Snoop Dogg
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel includes: Snoop Dogg, Pharrell, Latoiya Williams, Jay-Z, Soopafly, Nate Dogg, The Dramatics, Lil' Half Dead, Uncle Charlie Wilson, Mr. Kane, Traci Nelson, Goldie Loc, E-White, Redman, Warren G, Lady Of Rage, Ludacris, RBX.

Producers include: E-Swift, Jelly Roll, The Neptunes, Just Blaze, LT Hutton.

"Beautiful" was nominated for the 2004 Grammy Awards for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration and for Best Rap Song.

On PAID THA COST, Snoop Dogg delivers plenty of the kind of visceral, sensuous, West Coast G-Funk that we've come to love him for. The most blatant example is "Stoplight," which samples and nods to P-Funk's ubiquitous "Flashlight," but somehow ends up sounding more like vintage Rick James gone hip-hop. Though his vintage beats and loopy sense of humor complement that sound perfectly, he doesn't leave things at that. The honey-sweet vocals of LaToiya Williams lend a melodic, slow-jam R&B flavor to the mellow "I Believe in You." A love song from Snoop? Believe it. "Ballin'" features the old-school vocal-harmony soul that's always been close to Snoop's heart, courtesy of the Dramatics. "From tha Chuuuch to Da Palace" ups the humor ante by including a lascivious adaptation of "Buffalo Gals." What's curious is that the already laid-back Snoop often seems to retreat from the spotlight on this album, letting the production and special touches occupy the forefront. Perhaps it's just that he's already proven himself so thoroughly that he's ready to go where no rapper has gone before--egolessness.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (1/23/03, p.67) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Snoop stretches his silky flow over tracks by underground ace Hi-Tek and the unstoppable Neptunes..."
Spin (2/03, p.100) - 8 out of 10 - "...The most spirited pop record of his career....PAID THA COST is Snoop unleashed..."
Entertainment Weekly (12/13/02, p.82) - "...Snoop is reborn, a gangsta rap granddaddy in recline..." - Rating: A-
Uncut (01/03, p.128) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...He treads a line between loving monogamy and club bangers, emphasizing accessibility throughout..."
Vibe (1/03, pp.125-6) - 3.5 out of 5 - "...His wordplay is still as nimble and quick as ever, giving the beats a beat down with newfound urgency..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Don Doggy
  2. Da Bo$$ Would Like To See You
  3. Stoplight
  4. From Tha Chuuuch To Da Palace - (featuring Pharrell)
  5. I Believe In You - (featuring Latoiya Williams)
  6. Lollipop - (featuring Jay-Z/Soopafly/Nate Dogg)
  7. Ballin' - (featuring The Dramatics/Lil' Half Dead)
  8. Beautiful - (featuring Pharrell/Uncle Charlie Wilson)
  9. Paper'd Up - (featuring Mr. Kane/Traci Nelson)
  10. Wasn't Your Fault
  11. Bo$$ Playa
  12. Hourglass - (featuring Mr. Kane/Goldie Loc)
  13. One And Only, The
  14. I Miss That Bitch - (featuring E-White)
  15. From Long Beach 2 Brick City - (featuring Redman/Nate Dogg/Warren G)
  16. Suited N Booted
  17. You Got What I Want - (featuring Ludacris/Goldie Loc/Uncle Charlie Wilson)
  18. Batman & Robin - (featuring The Lady Of Rage/RBX)
  19. Message 2 Fat Cuzz, A
  20. Pimp Slapp'd
Release date Australia
November 26th, 2002
Priority Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...