Metal Albums:

Prophecy [Explicit Lyrics]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Prophecy [Explicit Lyrics]




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order



Soulfly: Max Cavalera (vocals, guitar, sitar, berimbau); Marc Rizzo (guitar); Bobby Burns (bass); Joe Nunez (drums, percussion).

Additional personnel: Asha Rabouin, Danny Marianino (vocals); Ljubomir Dimtrijevic (flute, bagpipes, percussion); David Ellefson (bass); Meia Noite, Kaval (percussion); John Gray (samples); Mark Pringle (background vocals).

Recorded at The Salzmone Studio Oasis, Mesa, Arizona.

Max Cavalera's fourth outing under the Soulfly banner finds the former Sepultura frontman as fierce as ever. Beginning with the wailing siren riffs of the title track, PROPHECY combines new-world issues with old-world religion. Throughout the album, the dreadlocked Cavalera conjures up images of Zion, using spiritual themes as an intriguing counterpoint to razor-sharp guitar lines and tight rhythms.

As on past Soulfly records, the songs often consist of movements, rather than more conventional structures; "Living Sacrifice" features a dub-like breakdown, while "Mars" incorporates an extended flamenco guitar solo that morphs into a reggae jam. However, there's still room for some pure, undiluted metal, as revealed on a powerful, straightforward version of Helmet's "In the Meantime." In a surprising conclusion, "Wings" features soulful, R&B-tinged lead vocals by Asha Rabouin, and a horn-laden instrumental finale, proving yet again that Cavalera aims to keep Soulfly as unpredictable as possible.

What the critics say...

CMJ (3/22/04, p.18) - "[T]he tracks on PROPHECY have worldly textures and a distinct vibe that furthers Soulfly's status as a fluid musical tribe."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Prophecy
  2. Living Sacrifice
  3. Execution Style
  4. Defeat U
  5. Mars
  6. I Believe
  7. Moses
  8. Born Again Anarchist
  9. Porrada
  10. In The Meantime
  11. Soulfly IV
  12. Wings
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Roadrunner Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...