R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

Quality Control

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Quality Control



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Jurassic 5: Chali 2NA, Zaakir, Akil, Marc 7, Cut Chemist, DJ Nu-Mark.

Additional personnel: Roberto Morena (bass); Bernard Purdie (drums).

Producers: DJ Nu-Mark, Cut Chemist, Shafiq Husayn.

Engineers: Stefan Neary, Mark Ellis, Cut Chemist.

A unique Australian issue of the American hip hop act's debut release; features a bonus disc comprising an entire instrumental version of 'Quality Control'. 2002.

Forgoing the grim lyrical concerns of many of their hip-hop contemporaries, Los Angeles' Jurassic 5 point up a more carefree time in the music's history. Recalling the youthful irreverence of the Native Tongues groups, Jurassic 5's easygoing rhymes and bouncy rhythms reveal a reverence for hip-hop's "old school," when the definition of a good tune was something to rock the party.

QUALITY CONTROL maintains an infectious energy level throughout. The MCs all take turns playing what they like to refer to as 'verbal basketball', spouting seemingly stream-of-conscious street poetry. Often the lyrics seem nonsensical; the emphasis here is more on fun and less on violent imagery or consciousness-raising agitprop. As demonstrated by the smart production work of Cut Chemist and DJ Nu-Mark, Jurassic 5 avoid simplistic musical formulae. Many of the sample sources are obscure, and encompass a wide range, from swing and funk, to jazz. Open-minded hip-hop fans will find simple pleasures in QUALITY CONTROL's optimistic and upbeat grooves.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (6/22/00, p.133) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Breathes new life into old-school hip-hop....taking ill beats mined from the deepest of crates and tweaking them into dirty-funk masterpieces....uncompromisingly intense and hard to resist."
Entertainment Weekly (6/23/00, p.102) - "...There is much to love. The 4 MCs are playful and progressive, and the virtuoso DJs quilt vintage funk with surgical scratching and deep-crate sampling..." - Rating: B
Q (8/00, p.99) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Pleasant fiction....fashioning sparky new shapes from hip hop's basic ingredients..."
Uncut (8/00, p.94) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Draws on De La Soul's back-to-basics beat deconstructions and lateral-thinking word association in artfully dishevelled rambles....Breezy, blunt-smokiing, bohemian hip hop par excellence..."
The Wire (6/00, p.49) - "...The record is nice. Upend that frown, spin it on its head and pass the double dutchie on the left-hand side."
Mixmag (7/00, p.166) - 4 out of 5 - "...Simple, hands-up, dope beats...and pointed, witty lyricism...that never fails to hit the spot....an album that's sure to appeal to hip hop heads and part-timers alike. Top."
CMJ (6/19/00, p.3) - "...A supremely produced modern variation on old school hip-hop...brilliantly balancing the retro purity rooted in post-gangsta rap of the Native Tongues with new school innovation..."
The Source (7/00, pp.209-10) - 3.5 mics out of 5 - "...An artful collage of old-school-sounding snare hits, horns, guitar licks and scratches....[it's] an album of rhythms and flows that move with remarkable cohesiveness....an ill album in completely original fashion..."
Mojo (Publisher) (7/00, p.98) - "...This is a truly freeflowing masterpiece....the beast are old-skool, party hardy, uptempo horn-stabbing '70s funk variety....Perhaps the time is right for new, ego-free hip hop..."
NME (Magazine) (7/1/00, p.45) - 6 out of 10 - "...Fluid interplay and...evolving musicality..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. How We Get Along
  2. Influence
  3. Great Expectations
  4. Quality Intro
  5. Quality Control
  6. Contact
  7. L.A.U.S.D.
  8. W.O.E. Is Me
  9. Monkey Bars
  10. Jurass Finish First
  11. Contribution
  12. Twelve
  13. Game
  14. Concrete & Clay
  15. Swing Set
  16. How We Get Along (Instrumental)
  17. Influence (Instrumental)
  18. Great Expectations (Instrumental)
  19. Quality Control (Instrumental)
  20. Contact (Instrumental)
  21. L.A.U.S.D. (Instrumental)
  22. W.O.E. Is Me (Instrumental)
  23. Monkey Bars (Instrumental)
  24. Jurass Finish First (Instrumental)
  25. Contribution (Instrumental)
  26. Twleve (Instrumental)
  27. Game (Instrumental)
  28. Concrete & Clay (Instrumental)
  29. Swing Set (Instrumental)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Interscope Records (Australia)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...