Rock Albums:


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...


Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Rancid by Rancid
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Rancid: Tim Armstrong, Lars Frederiksen (vocals, guitar); Matt Freeman (vocals, bass); Brett Reed (drums).

You don't have to be a Rancid fan to acknowledge that the band lives and dies by the punk ethic of playing every note like it's going to be its last. You'll find one hundred and ten percent attitude and music that's as honest as you can get on RANCID (not to be confused with the band's self-titled 1993 release).

RANCID finds the band leaning away from its previous ska tendencies, and throwing itself head first into a full-on punk rock onslaught that should have fans of the early Clash seeking out the nearest mosh pit. "Let Me Go" has a chorus that sticks to you like peanut butter on the gums, while "I Am Forever" captures the essence and raw power of The Descendents. There's barely a pause between the 22 blistering tracks here, and it's clear the band intended it that way. "Rwanda" and "Radio Havana" offer huge sing-along choruses, while "Antennas" is unarguably the most melodic track in the set. But don't think that Rancid's getting soft; amid these glorious melodic moments, there's more than enough hardcore here to piss off your whole neighborhood.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (8/31/00, p.76) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...[Their] mix of American thrash minimalism and Brit punk's sound and fury have transcended revivalist mimicry once and for all....a brutally exuberant rock album..."
Spin (11/00, p.209) - 8 out of 10 - "...A roots record scouring off any glossy residue left from the Alternative '90s by returning to pure punk..."
Entertainment Weekly (9/1/00, p.80) - "...One of the most vital things the punk world has coughed up in years..." - Rating: A-
Q (10/00, p.127) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...There's a lot of swearing, a few handsome tunes...the sure knowledge they'd be sensational live and the sheer, unadulterated gratitude for the fact they de-ska'd the entire album..."
CMJ (1/08/01, p.19) - Included in CMJ's "Best of the Year" for 2000.
CMJ (8/21/00, p.3) - "...Pure, uncut Rancid: stripped-down, violent and vicious....a classic..."
Melody Maker (8/8/00, p.48) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...All passion, no fashion, no bandwagon desperation. That's Rancid. And that is true punk rock."
NME (Magazine) (8/12/00, p.36) - 6 out of 10 - "...Fast and furious...and now they want to bludgeon with hardcore muscle..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Don Giovanni
  2. Disgruntled
  3. It's Quite Alright
  4. Let Me Go
  5. I Am Forever
  6. Poison
  7. Loki
  8. Blackhawk Down
  9. Rwanda
  10. Corruption
  11. Antenna's
  12. Rattle Snake
  13. City Of Sin
  14. Radio Havana
  15. Axiom
  16. Black Derby Jacket
  17. Meteor Of War
  18. Dead Bodies
  19. Rigged On A Fix
  20. Young Al Capone
  21. Reconciliation
  22. Golden Gate Fields
Release date Australia
October 1st, 2004
Hellcat Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...