Compilation & Soundtrack Albums:

Six Feet Under



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Original theme composed by Thomas Newman.

Compilation producers: Gary Calamar, Thomas Golubic.

"Six Feet Under-Main Theme" won the 2003 Grammy Awards for Best Instrumental Composition and Best Instrumental Arrangement.

SIX FEET UNDER was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Compilation Album For A Motion Picture Or Television.

Ever-adventurous HBO managed to score a hit with an unconventional series about a family of morticians. The series' soundtrack is accordingly unorthodox, resembling either an ADD schizophrenic's mix tape or a particularly eclectic session by a late-night college DJ. Aside from the show's own creepy theme and a couple of remixes thereof, there's big-band swing (Peggy Lee), funk (Shuggie Otis), Cuban music (Orlando "Cachaito" Lopez) and more. On the rock side, there's everything from PJ Harvey's raw, wordless "One Too Many" to the post-Beck hip-pop of the Beta Band and the driving, Stonesy "Bohemian Like You" by the Dandy Warhols. If only commercial radio stations were as cool as this.

What the critics say...

Entertainment Weekly (3/8/02, p.75) - "...Admirably bold..." - Rating: B
Q (11/02, p.118) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...The set works beautifully as a self-contained collection, a credit to a superb show..."
Uncut (1/03, p.97) - Included in Uncut's "100 Best Albums of the Year"
Uncut (11/02, p.132) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Like the show, a marvel of risk-taking and class..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Six Feet Under Main Theme - Thomas Newman
  2. Heaven - Lamb
  3. Deep Down & Dirty - Stereo MC's
  4. I Love Being Here With You - Peggy Lee
  5. One Time Too Many - PJ Harvey
  6. Squares - The Beta Band
  7. Distractions - Zero 7
  8. Inspiration Information - Shuggie Otis
  9. Pure & Easy - The Dinning Rooms
  10. Let's Go Out Tonight - Craig Armstrong/Paul Buchanan
  11. Spooky - The Classics IV
  12. Bohemian Like You - The Dandy Warhols
  13. Mis Dos Pequenas - Orlando Cachaito Lopez
  14. Waiting - The Devlins (Tom Lord-Alge remix)
  15. Six Feet Under Main Theme - Thomas Newman (Rae & Christian remix)
  16. Six Feet Under Main Theme - Thomas Newman (Photek remix)
  17. Yummy Yummy Yummy - Julie London (bonus track)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Universal Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...