World & International Albums:

The Definitive Collection: The Grand Dame of African Music

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Dorothy Masuka began her singing career with Miriam Makeba, but never managed to achieve the same level of success – indeed, outside South Africa she remains a largely unknown quantity, which is a shame. But perhaps part of the reason lies in the music she made, never as complex as her friend's – the material never challenges what seems like a powerful voice. Even her original version of “Pata Pata,” which became an international hit for Makeba, lacks the richness and texture of Makeba's cover. This collection is largely as-advertised, and definitive, covering the range of her career. The development is apparent, from the easy shuffle of the early years to the harder, bluesier edge of her later discs. But only “Khanyange,” with its darker mood, shows any real personality. Maybe it's a case of “there for the grace of God goes another star,” but on the basis of this, perhaps Masuka ultimately didn't have what it took. Chris Nickson –

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Hamba Notsokolo
  2. Teya Teya
  3. Andizenzinsi
  4. Pata Pata
  5. Themba
  6. Ngi Hamba Ngedwa
  7. Kutheni Zulu [Earth Mix]
  8. Naledi
  9. Usemncane
  10. Mama Ngi Niki
  11. Khanyange
  12. Ufikizolo
  13. Five Bells
  14. Mfan' Omncane
  15. Mali E Shebeen
  16. Nhingirikiri
  17. Magumede
  18. Hapo Zamani
  19. Impi
  20. Mzilikazi
Release date Australia
July 12th, 2004
Album Length (Minutes)
Wrasse Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...