Compilation & Soundtrack Albums:

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly [Remaster]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly [Remaster]

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio and multimedia computer files.

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

Composer: Ennio Morricone.

The whistling trill that opens the main theme to THE GOOD, THE BAD & THE UGLY is so familiar as to be a cultural touchstone. Even an abbreviated sound byte of the theme is enough to conjure images of desolate desert plains, rolling tumbleweeds, and a cowboy-booted figure standing ominously in the distance. These images come from Sergio Leone's "spaghetti" Westerns (so called because they were shot in Italy), while the sounds--created to aid Leone's existential narratives--are the work of the legendary Ennio Morricone.

Along with Bernard Herrmann and Nino Rota, Morricone is one of the most successful, accomplished, and well-known film composers of the 20th century. Like much of his work, the soundtrack to THE GOOD, THE BAD & THE UGLY utilizes unconventional instrumentation. Peculiar vocal calls, clanging auxiliary percussion, and electric guitars (which often employ a Dick Dale-like surf twang) trade off with a full complement of strings. The music is startlingly eclectic, moving from folk melodies to avant-garde dissonance to plaintive ballads to delicate ambience. Although the range of his career output is formidable, Morricone is perhaps best known for the soundtrack to this allegory of Civil War lawlessness, and it remains one of his finest achievements.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. IL Buono, IL Cattivo, IL Brutto
  2. IL Tramonto
  3. Sentenza
  4. Fuga A Cavallo
  5. IL Ponte Di Corde
  6. IL Forte
  7. Inseguimento
  8. IL Deserto
  9. La Carrozza Dei Fantasmi (The Carriage Of The Spirits)
  10. La Missione San Antonio
  11. Padre Ramirez
  12. Marcetta
  13. La Storia De Un Soldato
  14. IL Treno Militare
  15. Fine Di Una Spia
  16. IL Bandito Monco
  17. Due Contro Cinque
  18. Marcetta Senza Speranza
  19. Morte Di Un Soldato
  20. L'Estasi Dell'oro
  21. IL Triello
Release date Australia
June 3rd, 2004
Capitol/EMI Records
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...