R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

The Great Depression [Explicit Lyrics]




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel includes: DMX, Faith Evans, Stephanie Mills, Mashonda.

Producers include: DMX, Damon "Grease" Blackman, Black Key, Kidd Kold, Chad Elliot.

Recorded at The Hit Factory Criteria, Miami, Florida and Chaton Studios, Phoenix, Arizona.

"Who We Be" was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Rap Solo Performance.

Judging from his history of multi-platinum albums and successful film appearances, it would make more sense if DMX were happy rather than depressed. But then he might not have the same impact on his fans. THE GREAT DEPRESSION is the fourth installment in the story of DMX's life. Produced by various members of the Ruff Ryders crew, including Swizz Beatz and P.K., X's latest fits the Ruff Ryders formula of hardcore rap music with just enough crossover appeal to go pop. "Right Here," the first single, is a mid-tempo anthem for hip-hop heads to ride along with. And songs like "Trina Moe" show off DMX's writing skills, often overlooked amid the fury of his performances. Ironically enough, DMX sounds a lot more joyful than usual on THE GREAT DEPRESSION. The rapper is still as gritty as he was on his debut, only now he has a wealth of experience to share not only with his native Yonkers, but with the world at large.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (11/22/01, p.86) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...DMX still has his musical reflexes....maintaining his hard-rock chops on 'I'ma Bang', 'Who We Be' and 'Bloodline Anthem'..."
Entertainment Weekly (11/02/01, p.79) - "...Exhibits growth and honesty..." - Rating: B-
Q (p.134) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[P]acked with well-crafted anthems."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Sometimes
  2. School Street
  3. Who We Be
  4. Trina Moe
  5. We Right Here
  6. Bloodline Anthem (It's Our Time)
  7. Shorty Was The Bomb
  8. Damien III
  9. When I'm Nothing - (with Stephanie Mills)
  10. I Miss You - (with Faith Evans)
  11. Number 11
  12. Pull Up - (skit)
  13. I'ma Bang
  14. Pull Out - (skit)
  15. You Could Be Blind - (featuring Mashonda)
  16. Prayer IV, The
  17. Minute For Your Son, A
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Def Jam (USA)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...