Rock Albums:

The Look Of Love: The Very Best Of ABC

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Look Of Love: The Very Best Of ABC




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


THE LOOK OF LOVE: THE VERY BEST OF ABC includes two new tracks.

ABC includes: Martin Fry, Mark White, Stephen Singleton, David Palmer.

Producers include: Trevor Horn, Martin Fry, Bernard Edwards, Garry Hughes, Mark White.

Recorded between 1981 and 2001.

All tracks have been digitally remastered.

2001, U.K. issue, plus seven additional bonus tracks: 'Night You Murdered Love', 'Peace & Tranquility', 'One Better World' (Edit), 'King Without A Crown', 'Ocean Blue', 'Real Thing' & 'Blame'. 17 tracks total.

LOOK OF LOVE: THE VERY BEST OF ABC skims off the tastiest cream by this early- 1980s synth-pop band. Drawing from old-school R&B, the New Romantic movement, and (for singer Martin Fry, in particular) the innovations of '70s glam crooners Bryan Ferry and David Bowie, ABC forged a stylish--and often danceable--brand of pop in which saxophones and synthesized drums peacefully co-existed. Lesser-known cuts like the exotica-tinged "S.O.S." and later work like 2001's mid-tempo groover "Peace and Tranquility" prove the ensemble remarkably consistent in sound and songwriting.

Of course, it is the group's chart hits that stand out here, and for good reason. The collection's title cut, and "Poison Arrow" (an early MTV video sensation) are near-perfect pop songs. Likewise, the lilting electro-ballad "Be Near Me," the Smokey Robinson homage "When Smokey Sings" (which appropriates the riff from "Tears of a Clown"), and the catchy bounce of "How to Be a Millionaire" push all the right pleasure buttons. A winner as both a hits collection and a comprehensive career overview, LOOK OF LOVE is the definitive ABC disc to own.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Look Of Love, The
  2. All Of My Heart
  3. Poison Arrow
  4. When Smokey Sings
  5. That Was Then But This Is Now
  6. Tears Are Not Enough
  7. How To Be A Millionaire
  8. Night You Murdered Love, The
  9. Peace And Tranquility
  10. One Better World
  11. S O S
  12. King Without A Crown
  13. Be Near Me
  14. Ocean Blue
  15. Vanity Kills
  16. Real Thing, The
  17. Blame
Release date Australia
August 19th, 2003
Mercury Records (Australia)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help