Fiction Books:

Oxford Mark Twain

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Oxford Mark Twain



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Oxford Mark Twain: Full Set by Mark Twain )
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Colorful, irreverent, romantic, skeptical, a master of comic asides, a bittersweet humorist, and an unflinching critic of human pretensions, Mark Twain speaks to us across time with verve and wisdom. On the occasion of the centennial of his birth, Oxford is issuing a paperback set of our landmark 29 volume collection, The Oxford Mark Twain. In addition to gathering together most of the writings ever published by Twain in the U.S., each volume is introduced by one of our most eminent writers. Their essays combine critical insights and personal appreciations of Twain as a fellow writer. An interpretive essay by a leading scholar that sets the book in its context concludes each volume. At the heart of each is a facsimile edition of Twain's original which captures its contemporary flavor. Many include original illustrations which suggest the life and times of the books in a way that other editions cannot. This remarkable offering will be treasured by all lovers of literature.

Table of Contents

1. The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County, and Other Sketches; 2. The Innocents Abroad; 3. Roughing It; 4. The Gilded Age; 5. Sketches, New and Old; 6. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer; 7. A Tramp Abroad; 8. The Prince and the Pauper; 9. Life on the Mississippi; 10. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn; 11. A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court; 12. Merry Tales; 13. The American Claimant; 14. The GBP1,000,000 Bank Note and Other New Stories; 15. Tom Sawyer Abroad; 16. The Tragedy of Pudd'nhead Wilson and the Comedy Those Extraordinary Twins; 17. Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc; 18. The Stolen White Elephant and Other Detective Stories; 19. How to Tell a Story and Other Essays; 20. Following the Equator and Anti-Imperialist Essays; 21. The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg and Other Stories and Essays; 22. The Diaries of Adam and Eve; 23. What Is Man?; 24. The $30,000 Bequest and Other Stories; 25. Christian Science; 26. Chapters from My Autobiography; 27. 1601, and Is Shakespeare Dead?; 28. Extract from Captain Stormfield's Visit to Heaven?; 29. Speeches

Author Biography

Professor of English and Director of American Studies at Stanford University, Fishkin is the author, editor or co-editor of over forty books. She is probably the world's most well-known Mark Twain expert and has been featured in popular media speaking on Twain for over twenty years.
Release date Australia
February 25th, 2010
Edited by Shelley Fisher Fishkin
Country of Publication
United States
Oxford University Press Inc
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...