Blues Albums:

The Phenomenal/Stages

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Phenomenal/Stages



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Superlatives are rare in album titles, so if you’re going to stick a word like “phenomenal” in front of your name on a record cover, you darn well better have the goods to back it up. “Those are some big shoes!” laughs Ruthie Foster, who admits to initially having “quite a few reservations” about calling her fifth album ‘The Phenomenal Ruthie Foster’, crediting her producer, noted Austin-based “swamp music” guitarist Papa Mali, for making that gutsy call. As for how he came up with it, well… just give it a listen, and you’ll understand. Calling this record anything but “phenomenal” would be akin to false advertising.

This release of ‘The Phenomenal’ is a limited edition slipcase double CD set together with ‘Stages’, Foster’s only live album, which is a stripped-back, solo acoustic affair that makes the most of her incredible voice.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Cuz I’m Here
  2. Heal Yourself
  3. Fruits Of My Labor
  4. People Grinnin’ In Your Face
  5. Up Above My Head (I Hear Music In The Air)
  6. Harder Tan The Fall
  7. Beaver Creek Blues
  8. Mama Said
  9. Phenomenal Woman
  10. A Friend Like You
  11. I Don’t Know What To Do With My Heart
Disc 2:
  1. Ocean of Tears
  2. Crossover
  3. Rain Song
  4. Real Love
  5. God Bless The Child
  6. Turn Me On
  7. Death Came A-Knockin’ (Travelin’ Shoes)
  8. Get Out Of My Way
  9. Lost In The City
  10. Prayin’ For Rain
  11. Church
  12. Walk On
  13. Oh! Susannah
  14. Full Circle
Release date Australia
March 31st, 2008
Shock Records
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...