Fiction Books:

The Sleuth of St. James's Square


Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Sleuth of St. James's Square by Melville Davisson Post
37% off
$27.99 was $44.99
or 4 payments of $7.00 with Learn more
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 2-3 weeks


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 13-19 February using Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
  • Around 14-21 February using standard courier delivery


The Sleuth of St. James's Square is a collection of sixteen short mystery and crime stories written by Melville Davisson Post, a West Virginia author who gained international acclaim for his writing. The tales included in this volume are: "The Thing on the Hearth," "The Reward," "The Lost Lady," "The Cambered Foot," "The Man in the Green Hat," "The Wrong Sign," "The Fortune Teller," "The Hole in the Mahogany Panel," "The End of the Road," "The Last Adventure," "American Horses," "The Spread Rails," "The Pumpkin Coast," "The Yellow Flower," "A Satire of the Sea," and The House by the Loch."

Author Biography

Melville Davisson Post (1869 - 1930) was an American author, born in Harrison County, West Virginia.[1] Although his name is not immediately familiar to those outside of specialist circles, many of his collections are still in print and many collections of detective fiction include works by him. Post's best-known character is the mystery solving, justice dispensing West Virginian backwoodsman, Uncle Abner. The 22 Uncle Abner tales, written between 1911 and 1928, have been called some of "the finest mysteries ever written." Post's other recurring characters include the lawyers Randolph Mason and Colonel Braxton, and the detectives Sir Henry Marquis and Monsieur Jonquelle. His total output was approximately 230 titles, including several non-crime novels.
Release date Australia
November 1st, 2006
Country of Publication
United States
Alan Rodgers Books
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...