Fiction Books:

The Two Krishnas

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Two Krishnas

A Novel

Format

Paperback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Two Krishnas by Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla
Unavailable
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Description

In the tradition of "A Fine Balance" and "The Namesake," "The Two Krishna "is a sensual and searing look at infidelity and the nature of desire and faith. At the center of the novel is Pooja Kapoor, a betrayed wife and mother who is forced to question her faith and marriage when she discovers that her banker husband Rahul has fallen in love with a young Muslim illegal immigrant man who happens to be their son's age. Faced with the potential of losing faith in Rahul, divine intervention and family, she is forced to confront painful truths about the past and the duality in God and husband. "The Two Krishnas" draws inspiration from archetypal Hindu mythology and romantic Sufi poetry, evoking unforgettable characters to explore how, with a new world come new freedoms, and with them, the choices that could change everything we know about those we thought we knew - including ourselves. "Shiraz immerses us in his gripping narrative as he delves into the nooks and crannies of human desire and explores both its splendor and the havoc it can wreak. A formidably intelligent and adept writer, he has stretched my understanding of a world I know very little about with this touching and masterfully written novel."--Bapsi Sidhwa, author of "Cracking India" ""The Two Krishnas "is a powerful, sure footed novel of love, longing and loss that richly portrays life like no other work of fiction I've read. With his complex cast of characters and poetically drawn landscapes, Dhalla's talent shines and he shows us he's wise beyond his years."--Mark Jude Poirier, author of ""Goats"" ADVANCE PRAISE FOR "THE TWO KRISHNAS" "In "The Two Krishnas," a novel filled with unexpected turns and beauty, Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla has examined with perceptive compassion the complex and heart-wrenching ties that bind families and the secret desires that pull them apart."--Chitra Divakaruni, bestselling author of "The Palace of Illusions" "Shiraz immerses us in his gripping narrative as he delves into the nooks and crannies of human desire and explores both its splendor and the havoc it can wreak. A formidably intelligent and adept writer, he has stretched my understanding of a world I know very little about with this touching and masterfully written novel."--Bapsi Sidhwa, author of "New York Times" Notable Novel "Cracking India" "Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla writes with a voice that is both agile and compassionate. He renders scenes of great emotion with equal parts passion and precision. At it's core, " The Two Krishnas "is a classic tale of tragic, forbidden love, but Dhalla infuses it with an astute discussion of Hindu culture that should appeal to a broad cross-section of readers."--Christopher Rice, "New York"" Times" bestselling author of "A Density of Souls" and "Blind Fall"" """The Two Krishnas" is a powerful, sure footed novel of love, longing and loss that richly portrays life like no other work of fiction I've read. With his complex cast of characters and poetically drawn landscapes, Dhalla's talent shines and he shows us he's wise beyondhis years."--Mark Jude Poirier, author of ""Goats"""" and" Modern Ranch Living"

Author Biography

Los Angeles-based writer Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla is the author of the critically acclaimed novel Ode to Lata. HiS interview and reading from the book were broadcast on NPR, BBC and the international gay and lesbian radio magazine, This Way Out.
Release date Australia
September 23rd, 2010
Country of Publication
United States
Imprint
Alyson Publications Inc
Pages
325
ISBN-13
9781593501297
Product ID
3853834

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...