Pop Albums:

The Very Best Of Jackson Browne

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Very Best Of Jackson Browne



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel: Jackson Browne (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, piano); David Lindley (acoustic & electric guitars, slide guitar, fiddle); Kevin McCormick (acoustic guitar, bass); Clarence White (acoustic guitar); Jesse Ed Davis (electric guitar); Sneaky Pete Kleinow (pedal steel guitar); Craig Doerge (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, Mini-Moog synthesizer); David Paich, Elton John (piano); Benmont Tench (Hammond B-3 organ); Jai Winding (organ, synthesizer); Doug Haywood (organ, background vocals); Michael Utley (organ); Leland Sklar, Chuck Rainey (bass); Russell Kunkel (drums, congas); Jeff Porcaro (drums); Luis Conte (percussion); Vonda Shepard, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Glenn Frey, Dan Fogelberg, Don Henley, J.D. Souther, Bonnie Raitt (background vocals).

Producers include: Jackson Browne, Al Schmitt, Jon Landau, Greg Ladanyi, Scott Thurston.

Compilation producer: Jackson Browne.

Recorded between 1972 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Dave Marsh.

Before this double-disc dose of Jackson Browne's best came along, the influential troubadour's most extensive career summary was the 15-song THE NEXT VOICE YOU HEAR. This truly definitive anthology contains just about everything on that disc and plenty more. Browne helped define the 1970s singer/songwriter idiom, and that process is carefully documented here, as on the precociously world-weary "These Days" and the soulful, Van Morrison-like "Doctor My Eyes." The collection follows Browne through the years, as he toughens up his sound with more of a rock edge ("Running on Empty," "Boulevard") and adds a sociopolitical edge to his lyrics ("Lives in the Balance," "I am a Patriot"). Through it all, Jackson's humanity and humility, not to mention his lyrical song-craft, shine with an enviable consistency.

What the critics say...

Spin (p.104) - "He started as Nico's boy toy, then joined the dashboard confessional set of '70s L.A. rock, playing the emo-folkie foil to the Eagles' faux cowboys and Linda Rondstadt's denim diva."
Uncut (p.171) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[F]or a one-stop career retrospective, this is hard to beat."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.130) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Reflective, honest, articulate."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Doctor My Eyes
  2. Jamaica Say You Will
  3. Rock Me On The Water
  4. Take It Easy
  5. These Days
  6. Redneck Friend
  7. For Everyman
  8. For A Dancer
  9. Fountain Of Sorrow
  10. Late For The Sky
  11. Before The Deluge
  12. Your Bright Baby Blues
  13. Pretender, The
  14. Here Come Those Tears Again
  15. Load Out, The
  16. Stay
Disc 2:
  1. Running On Empty
  2. You Love The Thunder
  3. Boulevard
  4. Somebody's Baby
  5. Tender Is The Night
  6. Lawyers In Love
  7. In The Shape Of A Heart
  8. Lawless Avenues
  9. Lives In The Balance
  10. I Am A Patriot
  11. Sky Blue And Black
  12. I'm Alive
  13. Barricades Of Heaven, The
  14. Looking East
  15. Naked Ride Home, The
  16. Night Inside Me, The
Release date Australia
March 16th, 2004
Rhino Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...