Rock Albums:

Together We're Heavy



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


This release includes a bonus DVD.

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

The Polyphonic Spree: Tim DeLaughter (vocals, guitar, whistle, piano, organ, tubular bells, sampler); Julie Duncanville, Jennifer Jobe, Jessica Jordan, Jennie Kelley (vocals); Ryan Fitzgerald (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, background vocals); Ricky Rasura (harp); Rick Nelson (violin, viola, bass instrument); Audrey Easley (flute, piccolo, whistle); Logan Keese (trumpet, flugelhorn, background vocals); Jessie Hester (piano, background vocals); Evan Hisey (organ, synthesizer); Mark Pirro (bass instrument); Toby Halbrooks (Theremin).

Recording information: Luminous Sound, Dallas, Texas; Ocean Way Studios, Los Angeles, CA; The Echo Lab, Argyle, TX.

Everything about the Polyphonic Spree is voluminous and unique. Featuring 20-some members, including a theremin player, a flautist, a French horn player, a full choir, and an electronic soundscaper, among others, the band performs dressed in flowing, white robes, heightening its image as a spiritually oriented "family." Among the Spree's influences are the lush studio innovations of Brian Wilson, Paul McCartney/George Martin-esque symphonic pop, and sunny indie acts like Apples in Stereo and the Flaming Lips. The result is a noise that is majestic, infectious, and downright inspiring.

The track list on the band's debut is labeled "Sections 1-10," and TOGETHER WE'RE HEAVY picks up where THE BEGINNING STAGES OF... left off by featuring "Sections 11-20" (leading to the conclusion that the Spree's entire output will be one gigantic symphonic suite). In its highly melodic, hook-filled songwriting--equal parts dreamy 1960s pop, postmodern pastiche, and earnest, gospel-derived paeans--and epic arrangements (the collective's sheer volume is mightily impressive), the Polyphonic Spree stirs the soul. For a complete experience, check out the bonus DVD of live footage that accompanies the disc.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (p.128) - 3 stars out of 5 - "The gorgeous shape-shifting songs allow the diversity of the Spree's instrumentation, from strings to brass to theremin, to shine."
Q (p.116) - 4 stars out of 5 - "TOGETHER WE'RE HEAVY's transcendent qualities grow as it flows onward, and the sheer musical ambition of the Spree's pet sound finally, really defies cynicism."
CMJ (p.39) - "[E]xuberant and bombastic....A feel-good kind of album."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Section 11 (A Long Day Continues/We Sound Amazed)
  2. Section 12 (Hold Me Now)
  3. Section 13 (Diamonds/Mild Devotion To Majesty)
  4. Section 14 (Two Thousand Places)
  5. Section 15 (Ensure Your Reservation)
  6. Section 16 (One Man Show)
  7. Section 17 (Suitcase Callling)
  8. Section 18 (Everything Starts At The Seam)
  9. Section 19 (When The Fool Becomes A King)
  10. Section 20 (Together We're Heavy)
Release date Australia
May 18th, 2006
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help