Pop Albums:


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...


Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

Personnel includes: Joni Mitchell (vocals); Andy Findon, Helen Keen, Anna Noakes (flute); Nick Bucknall (clarinet); Sue Bohling (oboe, cornet); John Anderson (oboe); Julie Andrews (bassoon); Wayne Shorter (soprano saxophone); Plas Johnson (tenor saxophone); Kenny Wheeler (flugelhorn); Herbie Hancock (piano); Billy Preston (Hammond B-3 organ); Larry Klein (electric bass); Brian Blade (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion).

Recorded at Air Studio, Lyndhurst Hall, London, England; Ocean Way, Hollywood, California; Recorded One, Sherman Oaks, California; Market Street, Venice, California.

"Woodstock" won the 2004 Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocalists.

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

With all the artistic milestones behind her, Joni Mitchell would seem to have attained the kind of iconic status that allows her to do whatever she damn well pleases. Previous to TRAVELOGUE, her last album consisted almost entirely of standards from the Great American Songbook. This time around, she decided to revisit two discs' worth of (mostly) her more obscure material from various stages of her career, with full orchestral accompaniment. From a lesser artist, such indulgences might scream (or at least whisper) "loss of direction." Leave it to an artist of Mitchell's stature, however, to make such an ostensibly questionable move pay off in spades.

As it turns out, the asymmetrical, artsong-like aspect of Mitchell's more progressive compositions lends itself so well to orchestral arrangements that you'll be hard pressed to remember what tunes like "Otis and Marlena" (from DON JUAN'S RECKLESS DAUGHTER) or "Cherokee Louise" (NIGHT RIDE HOME) sounded like in their original versions. Though there are a couple of Mitchell's staples included here, one of the most striking achievements of TRAVELOGUE may be the way it renovates the reputation of some of the tunes from Mitchell's less well-regarded '80s efforts. Okay, Joni, you've pulled it off; now will you give us another batch of new songs?

What the critics say...

Q (01/03, p.120) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Triumphant....A 2CD Best Of that rejuvenates originals such as 'Hejira' and 'For the Roses' while staying faithful to them..."
Uncut (1/03, p.116) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Ambitious and richly textured....There's a melancholy sense of a whole era passing away in these reflective performances..."
Mojo (Publisher) (12/02, p.116) - "Once as fresh and clear as Canadian spring water, Joni Mitchell's voice these days is as complex and adult as bourbon whiskey..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Otis And Marlena
  2. Amelia
  3. You Dream Flat Tires
  4. Love
  5. Woodstock
  6. Slouching Towards Bethlehem
  7. Judgement Of The Moon And Stars (Ludwig's Tune)
  8. Sire Of Sorrow, The (Job's Sad Song)
  9. For The Roses
  10. Trouble Child
  11. God Must Be A Boogie Man
Disc 2:
  1. Be Cool
  2. Just Like This Train
  3. Sex Kills
  4. Refuge Of The Roads
  5. Hejira
  6. Chinese Cafe / Unchained Melody
  7. Cherokee Louise
  8. Dawntreader, The
  9. Last Time I Saw Richard, The
  10. Borderline
  11. Circle Game, The
Release date Australia
November 19th, 2002
Nonesuch Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...