Non-Fiction Books:

Victoria C. Woodhull

Ideas Ahead of Her Time: A Collection of Speeches and Writings by One of the Foremost Thinkers of Her Era.



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Victoria C. Woodhull by Victoria Claflin Woodhull
$17.99 was $21.99 save 18%
or 4 payments of $4.50 with Learn more
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 10-14 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 6-12 September using Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
  • Around 7-14 September using standard courier delivery


In post-Civil War America, the newly freed slaves had the right to vote, but women--regardless of their race--did not. In this era, Victoria Claflin Woodhull came of age politically, and was one of the leading lights in the fight for true equal rights. The first woman to testify before Congress, the first to be nominated for President (in 1872, by the Equal Rights Party), and one of the first to own her own brokerage house on Wall Street, she had very definite ideas about how to improve the lives of Americans in general and women in particular. This volume collects some of her speeches and writings, sharing her ground-breaking ideas with a modern audience, as well as some related material. Contents include: "A New Constitution for the United States of the World" "Constitutional Equality" the text of her testimony before the House Judiciary Committee, arguing that the 14th and 15th Amendments guaranteed women the right to vote. "A Lecture on Constitutional Equality," which Susan B. Anthony said was "ahead of anything, said or written... to help strike the chains from woman's spirit." "Children--Their Rights and Privileges" a speech on how to restructure society to create a perfected humanity. "And The Truth Shall Make You Free" a speech on the principles of social freedom. "The Elixir of Life, or, Why Do We Die?" which discusses sexual freedom and spirituality. "The Garden of Eden, or, The Paradise Lost & Found," which sets out her thesis that the kingdom of god is literally within us, and nothing pertaining to the body is obscene. Also included are texts of pertinent parts of the Constitution of the United States, and an introduction by presidential historian Ian Randal Strock."
Release date Australia
August 2nd, 2016
Introduction by Ian Randal Strock
Illustrations, black and white
Gray Rabbit Publishing
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...